Bill to Commemorate Route 66 Centennial Signed into Law

The U.S. Senate and House of Representatives approved a SAN-supported bill to create a commission to recommend ways to commemorate Route 66’s 100th anniversary. The first all-paved U.S. highway was completed in 1926. The 15-person commission will include representatives from the states through which the highway ran: Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Arizona and California.

The commission may recommend the production of various written materials, films and documentaries, education programs, artistic works, commemorative memorabilia and celebrations to commemorate Route 66’s storied history. The bill was signed into law on December 23, 2020.