Vehicle Emissions Inspection Requirements and Exemptions by State

Save Our Hobby—Here’s How!

DID YOU KNOW? In addition to free resources designed for true enthusiasts—like emissions and exhaust noise toolkits—the SAN also keeps tabs on proposed laws for cars and trucks in all 50-states? Protecting your rights is cost-free, easy, and more important than ever. Subscribe for breaking updates in your state:

ALERT ME!

Click on a state to view details.

image/svg+xml MA MN MT ND HI ID WA AZ CA CO NV NM OR UT WY AR IA KS MO NE OK SD LA TX CT NH RI VT AL FL GA MS SC IL IN KY NC OH TN VA WI WV DE MD NY PA NJ ME MI AK No Smog Requirements Smog Requirements DC

Clearing the Smog Law Haze

Everyone agrees that taking strides toward keeping our planet healthy is a noble cause, but how should the burden be shared?  Clean air is a national concern addressed by the EPA, but the laws governing how motor vehicle smog checks are performed, which vehicles are tested and how frequently is handled at the state and local level.  Maybe a daily driver needs an inspection every two years or so, but what about an infrequently driven collector car? Are the laws different for 3/4- or 1-ton trucks? And what if that truck is a diesel?  The SEMA Action Network (SAN) helps you keep track of smog check requirements in each state and the laws that exempt certain specialty vehicles.

The following information is posted here for enthusiasts to learn more about vehicle emissions inspection laws in their states.  Please understand that state laws are subject to change, and it is important to consult the current statutes and regulations in your state to ensure accurate information.  You should not rely solely on the following information, and SEMA disclaims any responsibility for damages that arise out of reliance on the following information.  If you have further questions, please contact the SAN at san@sema.org.

AL | AK | AR | AZ | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI | IA | ID | IL | IN | KS | KY | LA | MA | MD | ME | MI | MN | MO | MS | MT
NC | ND | NE | NH | NJ | NM | NV | NY | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VA | VT | WA | WI | WV | WY

 

Alabama

None.

Alaska

None.

Arizona

Emissions inspections are required for vehicles registered in the metro Phoenix area (Area A) and the metro Tucson area (Area B) and must be inspected for emissions no more than 90 days prior to registration. Registration renewal applications issued by the MVD will include the statement "Emission Test Required" when the vehicle is required to be tested.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are required to be tested annually.

Exemptions:
1. Vehicles registered outside of Phoenix and Tucson Metro Area zip codes.
2. Gasoline-powered and alternative fuel vehicles 5 model years old and newer (this does NOT include reconstructed vehicles).
2. Pre-1967 model year vehicles
3. Vehicles registered as "collectible" with collectible vehicle insurance

For more information visit: http://www.myazcar.com/

Arkansas

None.

California

Currently, smog inspections are required for most vehicles every two years for registration renewal.

Diesel Vehicles:

All diesel vehicles 1998 model or newer or an GVWR of less than 14,000 lbs must undergo smog inspections. 

Exemptions:

1. Gasoline powered 1975-year model or older
2.  Electric
3.  Natural gas powered with a GVWR rating of more than 14,000 lbs.
4.  Owners of vehicles less than 4 model years old can pay an Annual Smog Abatement Fee for the first 8 registration years instead of being required to provide a biennial smog certification.

 

For more information visithttps://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/

For information on Kit and Specially Constructed Vehicles visit: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/vehicle-registration/new-registration/register-a-specially-constructed-or-modified-vehicle/

Colorado

The full counties of Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas and Jefferson and portions of Adams, Arapahoe, Larimer, and Weld counties require a passing emission test to register a vehicle.

Diesel Vehicles:
All diesel vehicles model years 2007 – 2013 need an emission test biennially and all diesels model years 1986 – 2006 need emissions tests annually.

Exemptions:
1. Vehicles that are seven (7) model years old and newer
2. Vehicles in their "off" year cycle - vehicles require an inspection every other year.
3. All-electric vehicles (hybrid-electric vehicles are inspected after 7 years).
4. Collector plated vehicles (model year 1975 and older).
5. Horseless carriages, street rods, and kit cars

For more information visithttps://aircarecolorado.com

Connecticut

Emissions inspections are required every two years. The state notifies registered vehicle owners of an upcoming test date 45 days in advance of when the test is due to be conducted.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are required to be tested in the same manner as gasoline powered vehicles

Exemptions:

  1. 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 model year vehicles;
  2. Model year 1995 and older vehicles;
  3. Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more;
  4. Composite Vehicles (vehicle must be titled as a composite vehicle);
  5. Full electric-powered (non-hybrid);
  6. Bicycles with motors attached;
  7. Motorcycles;
  8. Certain vehicles registered but not designed primarily for highway use;
  9. Farm vehicles; 
  10. Vehicles with Dealer, Repairer, or Transporter Plates 

For more information visit: http://ctemissions.com/ 

Delaware

Emissions inspections are required for vehicles when vehicles are registered or when registration is renewed.

Diesel Vehicles:
Required for all diesel vehicles manufactured after 1997

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles for the newest seven (7) model years
2. Pre-1968 model year vehicles.
3. Vehicles with a GVWR of more than 8,500 lbs

For more information visit: https://www.dmv.de.gov 

 

 

Florida

None.

Georgia

If your vehicle is a 1996 – 2017 model year gasoline-powered car or light-duty truck (8,500 pounds gross vehicle weight rating or less) registered in Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding or Rockdale County, it must be emissions tested. 

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are not tested for emissions.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles for the newest three (3) model years
2. Motor vehicles twenty-five (25) model years old and older
3. Vehicles with a GVWR of more than 8,500 lbs
4. Vehicles granted non-conforming status. Kit cars, hot rods, gray market vehicles, and vehicles for which the owner is unable to obtain parts to repair the vehicle are provided with non-conforming status if they were granted non-conforming status before December 31, 1998.

For more information visit: http://www.cleanairforce.com/motorists/

Hawaii

None.

Idaho

Vehicles registered in Ada and Canyon Counties and the city of Kuna are required to undergo emissions testing for registration and then every other year.

Diesel Vehicles:

Diesel vehicles are required to be tested in the same manner as gasoline powered vehicles and are provided with the same exemptions.

Exemptions:
1. Motor vehicles with a model year less than five years old.
2. Pre-1981 model year vehicles
3. Electric or hybrid motor vehicles
4. Classic automobiles as defined by Idaho Code
5. Vehicles with a GVWR of less than 1,500 lbs
6. Vehicles with a GVWR of greater than 14,000 lbs

For more information visit: http://www.idahovip.org/

Illinois

Vehicles registered in specific ZIP codes in the Chicago and Metro-East St. Louis areas are subject to testing every two years.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are not tested for emissions.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles for the newest four (4) model years
2. Pre-1968 model year vehicles
3. Vehicles of model year 1995 or before that were in compliance with the Illinois Vehicle Emissions Inspection Law on February 1, 2007
4. Electric Vehicles
5. Vehicles registered as antiques, expanded use antiques, customs and street rods
6. Vehicles for which a Junking Certificate has been issued by the Secretary of State pursuant to the Illinois Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/3-117).
7. Vehicles of model year 2006 or earlier with a manufacturer gross vehicle weight rating between 8,501 and 14,000 pounds.
8. Vehicles with a manufacturer gross vehicle weight rating greater than 14,000 pounds.

For more information visit: http://illinoisairteam.net/

Indiana

Vehicles registered in Lake County and Porter County are required to undergo emissions testing biennially.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are not tested for emissions.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles for the newest four (4) model years
2. Pre-1976 model year vehicles
3. Kit cars and dune buggies that meet established criteria for a "Specialty Exemption"; specialty exemptions must be applied for and granted every two years
4. Show cars that meet established criteria for a "Show Car Exemption"; show car exemptions must be applied for and granted every two years
5. Ceremonial vehicles
6.  Antique vehicles
7. Vehicles with a GVWR of more than 9,000 lbs.
8. Electric Vehicles

For more information visit: https://www.in.gov/bmv or https://cleanaircarcheck.com/

Iowa

None.

Kansas

None.

Kentucky

None.

Louisiana

Vehicles registered in the five-parish area around Baton Rouge consisting of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Livingston, and West Baton Rouge parishes are subject to emissions testing during an annual combined safety/emissions inspection.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are not tested for emissions.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles for the newest two (2) model years
2. Pre-1980 model year vehicles
3. Vehicles with a GVWR of more than 10,000 lbs

For more information visit: https://deq.louisiana.gov/

Maine

Vehicles registered in the Cumberland County are subject to annual emissions testing that is performed at the same time as the state's safety inspection. The emissions inspection includes an equipment check, a gas cap pressure test for 1974 and newer vehicles and an Onboard Diagnostics (OBD) inspection for 1996 and newer vehicles.

Diesel Vehicles:
Only diesel vehicles with a GVWR of more than 18,000 lbs are tested for emissions.

Exemptions:
1. Vehicles with antique registration and plates

For more information visit: https://www.maine.gov/dep/

Maryland

Vehicles registered in 13 out of Maryland's 18 counties and the city of Baltimore are required to undergo biennial emissions testing.

Counties: Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Calvert, Carroll, Cecil, Charles, Frederick, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, Prince George's, Queen Anne's, and Washington

OBD testing is performed on vehicles model year 1996 and newer and an idle tailpipe and gas cap test is administered on model year 1977-1995 vehicles.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are not tested for emissions.

Exemptions:

  1. 1995 or older under 8500 Gross Vehicle Weight
  2. Vehicles weighing more than 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight
  3. Vehicles registered as a farm truck, farm truck tractor or farm area vehicle
  4. Historic or Antique vehicles
  5. New vehicles and qualified hybrids for the first 36 months after titling and registration
  6. Vehicles registered to senior citizens over 70 or vehicles registered with hard metal disable tags and who drive 5,000 miles per year or less (if co-owned, both owners must qualify for the waiver) can apply for a waiver for the balance of the two year cycle. Mileage must be recertified every two years to continue to received the waiver
  7. Vehicles registered as a Class N street rod vehicle


For more information visit:

https://mva.maryland.gov/

Massachusetts

Massachusetts performs an OBD emissions test annually on vehicles that are less than 15 years old.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are required to undergo emissions testing based on their weight and model year. Vehicles that require testing: Model years 2005 and newer light-duty diesel vehicles (with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating or "GVWR" of 8,500 pounds or less), Model years 2007 and newer medium-duty diesel vehicles (with a GVWR of 8,501 to 14,000 pounds). Model year 1984 and newer, medium- and heavy-duty diesel vehicles (with a GVWR of 10,001 pounds or more) not subject to an OBD test.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles delivered to Massachusetts owners
2. Vehicles 15 years old and older 
3. Electric Vehicles

For more information: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/massachusetts-department-of-environmental-protection

Michigan

None.

Minnesota

None.

Mississippi

None.

Missouri

Missouri requires biennial emissions testing (combined with the state's biennial safety inspection) on vehicles registered in the St. Louis ozone nonattainment area, which includes St. Louis City and Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles and St. Louis counties.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles must undergo OBD emissions testing in the same way as gasoline powered vehicles. Diesel vehicles with a model year of 1996 or older are exempt. 

Exemptions:
1. Vehicles with a model year of 1995 or older
2.  New motor vehicles, during the model year of the vehicle and the following year, provided the odometer reading is less than 6,000 miles at the time of the sale
3.  Motor vehicles sold for junk, salvage, or rebuilding
4. Vehicles that display historic or street rod plates
7. Vehicles driven fewer than 12,000 miles between biennial safety inspections (must submit a mileage based exemption request)
8. Vehicles with a GVWR of over 8,500 lbs.
9.  Vehicles powered exclusively by solar power, electric, hydrogen

For more information visit: https://dor.mo.gov/motorv

Montana

None.

Nebraska

None.

Nevada

Nevada requires emissions testing on vehicles registered in the urban areas of Clark County (Las Vegas) and Washoe County (Reno) before the vehicle can be registered or its is registration renewed.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles with a GVWR of 14,000 or less must undergo emissions testing, but are provided with the same exemptions provided to gasoline powered vehicles.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles for their first and second registration
2. New hybrid-electric vehicles for the first 5 model years
2. Pre-1968 model year vehicles
3. Vehicles based in remote areas of Clark and Washoe counties and all other Nevada counties
4. Alternative fuel vehicles.
5. Vehicles registered as a Classic Rod, Classic Vehicle or Old Timer and driven 5,000 miles or less per year.
6. Vehicles registered as a Replica Vehicle.

For more information visit: http://www.dmvnv.com/ 

New Hampshire

New Hampshire requires all automobiles and light-duty trucks less than 20 years old to have an OBD emission system inspection.

Diesel Vehicles:
Model year 1997 and newer diesel vehicles with a GVWR of 8,500 lbs or less must undergo emissions testing.

Exemptions:
1. Vehicles with a GVWR of more than 8,500 lbs
2. Vehicles 20 model years old or older

For more information visit: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/index-original.htm

New Jersey

New Jersey requires emissions testing every two years for vehicles model year 1996 and newer with a GVWR of 8,500 lbs or less, 5 model years old and older.

Diesel Vehicles:
Light duty (8,500 lbs or less) diesel powered vehicles model year 1997 and newer, are required to undergo diesel emissions testing. 

Exemptions:

  1. New vehicles for the newest five (5) model years
  2. Vehicles model year 1995 & older with a GVWR 8,500 pounds or less.
  3. Gasoline powered vehicles registered passenger, model year 2007 & older with a GVWR 8,501 to 14,000 pounds.
  4. Vehicles model year 2013 & older with a GVWR 14,001 pounds or more.
  5. Vehicles registered as "historic vehicles"
  6. Approved Collector Vehicles which are less than 25 years old
  7. 100% Electric Vehicles

For more information visit: https://www.state.nj.us/mvc/

New Mexico

New Mexico requires emissions testing at the time of registration for vehicles registering in Bernalillo County. All 1986 and newer motor vehicles up to 10,000 lbs GVW must pass an emission test every two years and at change of ownership.

Diesel Vehicles:
No Required Emission Test

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles for four years following initial registration from the date of manufacturer's certificate of origin (MCO).
2. Dedicated Electric Vehicles.
3. Vehicles that are only used for legally sanctioned competition.
4. Vehicles with a GVWR of more than 10,000 lbs.
5. Vehicles that are not operated on public streets and highways.

6. Vehicles older than 35 years. 

For more information visit: http://www.cabq.gov/

New York

New York requires annual emissions testing in conjunction with the state's annual safety inspection. Non-exempt vehicles that have a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) less than 8,501 pounds and that are model year 1996 or newer must undergo an OBD inspection. Vehicles manufactured prior to 1996 are subject to a low enhanced inspection. 

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel-powered vehicles that that are 1997 or newer and that have a GVRW less than 8,501 pounds are subject to annual emissions inspection.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles for the newest two (2) model years
2. Vehicles that  are more than 25 model years old
3. Electric vehicles 
3. Vehicles registered with historical plates

For more information visit: https://dmv.ny.gov

North Carolina

Motor vehicles registered in 22 North Carolina counties must pass an emissions inspection, which is conducted at the same time as the safety inspection. These counties are: Alamance, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Cumberland, Davidson, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, New Hanover, Onslow, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Wake, and Union. 

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are not tested for emissions.

Exemptions:
1. Some light-duty vehicles less than 3 years old or have fewer than 70,000 miles
2. Vehicles that are 20 model years old or older
3. Vehicles with an antique automobile license plate 

For more information visit: https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv

North Dakota

None.

Ohio

Ohio requires emissions tests for vehicles every other year in Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Summit counties (Cleveland Metropolitan area). Even model year vehicles must be tested during even-numbered years and odd model year vehicles must be tested during the odd-numbered years.

Diesel Vehicles:
All diesel-fueled vehicles equaling 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or less must be tested.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles for the newest four (4) model years
2. Vehicles that are 26 model year old or older
3. Vehicles with a GVWR of more than 10,000 lbs
4. Vehicles registered as "historical" or "collector" vehicles
5. Parade and exhibition vehicles
6. Electric vehicles (one-time verification inspection required)

For more information visit: https://epa.ohio.gov/

Oklahoma

None.

Oregon

Oregon's Department of Environmental Quality requires emissions testing in the Portland and Medford metropolitan areas prior to registration and as a part of the registration renewal process.  

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles in the metropolitan areas of Portland and Medford with a GVWR of 8,500 lbs or less are required to undergo emissions testing, but are provided with the same exemptions provided to gasoline powered vehicles in those areas.

Exemptions:
1. Pre-1975 model year vehicles (Portland)
2. Vehicles that are 21 model year old or older (Medford)
3. Newer model year vehicles (for 2020 this extend to model-year 2017)

For more information visit:
https://www.oregon.gov/deq

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania requires gasoline powered cars, vans and light-duty trucks (9,000 lbs. or less gross vehicle weight), with a model year 1975 and newer to undergo emissions inspections annually the counties of Allegheny, Beaver, Berks, Blair, Bucks, Cambria, Centre, Chester, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Erie, Lackawanna, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Mercer, Montgomery, Northampton, Philadelphia, Washington, Westmoreland and York. The emissions inspection is to be completed before or with the annual safety inspection.   

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are not tested for emissions.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles with less than 5,000 miles on the odometer is exempt for one year after the first registration.
2. Any vehicle driven fewer than 5,000 miles during the 12-month period immediately preceding the inspection.  
2. Pre-1975 model year vehicles
3. Vehicles with a GVWR of more than 9,000 lbs
4.  Vehicles registered as classics, antiques, collectibles, street rods, and specially constructed.

For more information visit: http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us

Rhode Island

Rhode Island requires biennial emissions inspections to be conducted in conjunction with safety inspections.   

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles with a GVWR of 8500lbs or less are required to be tested for Safety and Emissions. Heavy duty diesel powered vehicles (weighing over 8500 pounds) must be inspected annually at an "A" Class inspection station.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles for first (2) model years or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first
2. Vehicles registered as antiques
3. Motor vehicles 25 years old or older must undergo inspection for safety and emissions, but are not failed if they do not pass emissions standards
4. Vehicles manufactured as kit cars may receive an alternate type of inspection.

For more information visit: https://www.riinspection.org/

South Carolina

None.

South Dakota

None.

Tennessee

Annual emissions inspections must be passed prior to registration and registration renewal in the counties of Hamilton, Davidson, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson and Wilson and in the city of Nashville. 

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are treated the same as gasoline powered vehicles for emission inspection purposes.

Exemptions:
1. Pre-1975 model year vehicles
2. Vehicles with a GVWR of more than 10,500 lbs
3. Vehicles over 25 years old with antique registration and plates
4. New vehicles being registered for the first time
5. Electric vehicles 

For more information visit: http://www.tnvip.org/

Texas

Annual emissions inspections must be passed prior to registration and registration renewal in the counties of Brazoria, Collin, Dallas, Denton, El Paso, Ellis, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Johnson, Kaufman, Montgomery, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant, Travis, and Williamson.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are not tested for emissions.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles for the newest two (2) model years
2. Vehicles with "Antique" registration and plates
3. Vehicles 25 years old or older
4. Vehicles registered as "Classic" are only required to have a safety inspection
5. Kit Cars are required to meet the emissions standards for the year the vehicle is assembled.

For more information visit: https://www.dps.texas.gov

Utah

All vehicles registered in Davis, Salt Lake, Utah and Weber counties with model years less than six years old are required to have an emission test once every two years. Vehicles in this category that have even-numbered model years must have an emission test in even-numbered years, and vehicles that have odd-numbered model years must have an emission test in odd-numbered years. Vehicles with model years six years old and older (to 1968) must have an emission test every year.

Cache County vehicles with model years six years old and greater that have even-numbered model years, must have an emission test in even number years, and vehicles with odd-numbered model years must have an emission test in odd-numbered years. Vehicles with model years 1968 or older do not require an emission test.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are treated the same as gasoline powered vehicles for emission inspection purposes except emissions tests are not required for diesel vehicles registered in Utah county.

Exemptions:
1. New Vehicles
2. Pre-1968 model year vehicles
3. Vehicles registered as "vintage vehicles" or "custom"

For more information visit: https://dmv.utah.gov/

Vermont

On-board diagnostic systems (OBD) on light-duty vehicles that are 16 model years or newer, having a GVWR of 8,500 lbs or less are checked as part of Vermont's annual vehicle safety inspection.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles with a GVWR of 8,500 lbs or less with a model year of 1997 or newer are required to undergo emissions testing.

Exemptions:
1. Vehicles older than 16 model years 
2. Vehicles with a GVWR of more than 8,500 lbs

For more information visit:
https://dec.vermont.gov/

Virginia

Annual emissions inspections are required for vehicles registered in the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William, and Stafford and cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park and must be passed prior to vehicle registration and registration renewal.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel powered vehicles are exempt, except they are not exempt from the emissions testing program requirements when they have:
1. A model year newer than 1996, and
2. A Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) less than 8,501 lbs., (if GVWR is not available, empty and gross weights will be used) and
3. A registration that expires in July 2007 or later.

Exemptions:
1. New vehicles being titled for the first time for the first four years of registration
2. Used vehicles of the current and three previous model years 
3. A vehicle with a model year that is more than 25 years old before January 1 of the current calendar year. 
4. Vehicles with a GVWR of more than 10,000 lbs
5. Electric or other vehicles exclusively powered by clean fuel

For more information visit:
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/

Washington

None.

Washington D.C.

Emissions inspections are required for vehicles prior to registration and every two years thereafter.

Diesel Vehicles:
Diesel vehicles are not tested for emissions.

Exemptions:
1. New personal vehicles that have a manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin do not need to be inspected and will receive a 4 year new car inspection sticker upon registration through the dealership. The law still requires all vehicles to display the valid inspection sticker.
2. Personal vehicles that are manufactured  pre-1968 do not need to be inspected.
3. Designated as a zero emissions vehicle.

For more information visit: https://dmv.dc.gov

West Virginia

None.

Wisconsin

Emissions inspections are required for vehicles registered in Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Washington and Waukesha counties of Wisconsin every other year at the time of license plate renewal. Vehicles more than five model years old require inspection at change of ownership and at time of registration renewal (every two years). 

Diesel Vehicles:
All 2007 model year and newer diesel powered vehicles with a GVWR of up to 14,000 lbs are required to undergo emissions inspections.

Exemptions:
1. Vehicles manufactured before 1996
2. The newest 3 model year vehicles
2. Vehicles manufactured after 1996 that are not OBDII-compliant (must be verified at a test station).
3. A motor vehicle of a model year of 2006 or earlier that has a GVWR exceeding 8,500 pounds, and a motor vehicle of a model year of 2007 or later that has a GVWR exceeding 14,000 pounds
4.  Vehicles with a registered gross weight over 14,000 lbs.
5.  Vehicles registered as special design vehicles, Medal of Honor, and apportioned plates.
6. Electric vehicles

For more information visit:
https://www.wisconsinvip.org

Wyoming

None.