West Virginia Reintroduces Bill to Exempt Antique Motor Vehicles From Taxes and Fees

A bill (H.B. 2236) has been reintroduced in the West Virginia State Legislature to provide owners of antique motor vehicles with an exemption from taxation and fees.  The bill is pending in the House Roads and Transportation Committee for consideration.        

We Urge You to Contact the Roads and Transportation Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 2236

  • West Virginia law defines an "Antique motor vehicle" to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item.
  • H.B. 2236 exempts antique vehicle owners from sales tax and all other taxes and fees.  Under the bill, certificates of title and other required permits would be granted free of charge.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 2236.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee

Delegate Margaret Anne Staggers (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3197
E-mail: margaret.staggers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Linda Goode Phillips (Vice Chair)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3163
E-mail: linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Daryl Cowles (Minority Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3177
E-mail: daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Allen V. Evans (Minority Vice Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3399
E-mail: allen.evans@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry W. Barker
Phone: (304) 340-3149
E-mail: larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brent Boggs
Phone: (304) 340-3220
E-mail: brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Greg Butcher
Phone: (304) 340-3113
E-mail: greg.butcher@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Thomas W. Campbell
Phone: (304) 340-3280
E-mail: tcampbell@grcs.com

Delegate Gerald L. Crosier
Phone: (304) 340-3188
E-mail: gerald.crosier@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Daniel J. Hall
Phone: (304) 340-3119
E-mail: daniel.hall@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Harold Michael
Phone: (304) 340-3340
E-mail: harold@hardynet.com

Delegate Daniel Poling
Phone: (304) 340-3137
E-mail: dan.poling@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Skaff Jr.
Phone: (304) 340-3362
E-mail: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Margaret Donaldson Smith
Phone: (304) 340-3123
E-mail: peggydonaldsonsmith@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dale Stephens
Phone: (304) 340-3395
E-mail: delegatestephens@comcast.net

Delegate Josh Stowers
Phone: (304) 340-3384
E-mail: josh.stowers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate David Walker
Phone: (304) 340-3135
E-mail: david.walker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Danny Wells
Phone: (304) 340-3287
E-mail: danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Joe Ellington
Phone: (304) 340-3172
E-mail: joe.ellington@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Marty Gearheart
Phone: (304) 340-3179
E-mail: marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Gary G. Howell
Phone: (304) 340-3191
E-mail: gary.howell@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Eric Nelson
Phone: (304) 340-3181
E-mail: nelson@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amanda Pasdon
Phone: (304) 340-3153
E-mail: amanda.pasdon@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brian Savilla
Phone: (304) 340-3141
E-mail: brian.savilla@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Rick Snuffer
Phone: (304) 340-3183
E-mail: rick.snuffer@wvhouse.gov