West Virginia Reintroduces Bill to Exempt Antique Motor Vehicles From Taxes and Fees

A bill (H.B. 2443) has been reintroduced in the West Virginia State Legislature to provide owners of antique motor vehicles with an exemption from taxation and fees.  The bill is pending in the House Roads and Transportation Committee for consideration.        

We Urge You to Contact the Roads and Transportation Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 2443

  • West Virginia law defines an "Antique motor vehicle" to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item.
  • H.B. 2443 exempts antique vehicle owners from sales tax and all other taxes and fees.  Under the bill, certificates of title and other required permits would be granted free of charge.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 2443. 

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

margaret.staggers@wvhouse.gov; linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov; daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov; marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov; anthony.barill@wvhouse.gov; brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov; linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov; dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov; justin.marcum@wvhouse.gov; dan.poling@wvhouse.gov; doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov; peggydonaldsonsmith@wvhouse.gov; delegatestephens@comcast.net; josh.stowers@wvhouse.gov; david.walker@wvhouse.gov; danny.wells@wvhouse.gov; george.ambler@wvhouse.gov; jim.butler@wvhouse.gov; scott.cadle@wvhouse.gov; joe.ellington@wvhouse.gov; paul.espinosa@wvhouse.gov; david.evans@wvhouse.gov; danny.hamrick@wvhouse.gov; gary.howell@wvhouse.gov; john.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Margaret Anne Staggers (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3197
Delegate Linda Phillips (Vice Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3163
Delegate Daryl Cowles
Phone: (304) 340-3177
Delegate Marty Gearheart
Phone: (304) 340-3179
Delegate Anthony Barill
Phone: (304) 340-3173
Delegate Brent Boggs
Phone: (304) 340-3220
Delegate Linda Longstreth
Phone: (304) 340-3124
Delegate Dana Lynch
Phone: (304) 340-3916
Delegate Justin Marcum
Phone: (304) 340-3126
Delegate Daniel Poling
Phone: (304) 340-3137
Delegate Doug Skaff
Phone: (304) 340-3362
Delegate Margaret Smith
Phone: (304) 340-3123
Delegate Dale Stephens
Phone: (304) 340-3395
Delegate Josh Stowers
Phone: (304) 340-3337
Delegate David Walker
Phone: (304) 340-3135
Delegate Danny Wells
Phone: (304) 340-3287
Delegate George Ambler
Phone: (304) 340-3129
Delegate Jim Butler
Phone: (304) 340-3199
Delegate Scott Cadle
Phone: (304) 340-3118
Delegate Joe Ellington
Phone: (304) 340-3172
Delegate Paul Espinosa
Phone: (304) 340-3130
Delegate David Evans
Phone: (304) 340-3151
Delegate Danny Hamrick
Phone: (304) 340-3141
Delegate Gary Howell
Phone: (304) 340-3191
Delegate John Shott
Phone: (304) 340-3187