West Virginia Introduces Bill to Exempt Antique Motor Vehicles from Taxes and Fees

A bill (H.B. 2775) has been introduced in the West Virginia State Legislature to provide owners of antique motor vehicles with an exemption from taxation and fees.  The bill is pending in the House Roads and Transportation Committee for consideration.        

We Urge You to Contact the Roads and Transportation Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 2775.

  • West Virginia law defines an "Antique motor vehicle" to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item.
  • H.B. 2775 exempts antique vehicle owners from sales tax and all other taxes and fees.  Under the bill, certificates of title and other required permits would be granted free of charge.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 2775.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee
Delegate Dale Martin  – Chair
Phone:  304/340-3134
Email:  dale.martin@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Orphy Klempa  – Vice Chair
Phone:  304/340-3378
Email:  orphy.klempa@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Robert A. Schadler – Minority Chair
Phone:  304/340-3191
Email:  rschadler@comcast.net

Delegate Ray Canterbury  – Minority Vice Chair
Phone:  304/340-3131
Email:  rcanter1@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Sam J. Argento
Phone:  304/340-3112
Email:  sargento@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Larry W. Barker
Phone:  304/340-3149
Email:  larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Greg Butcher
Phone:  304/340-3113
Email:  gbutcher@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Kevin J. Craig
Phone:  304/340-3350
Email:  kcraig1@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Gerald L. Crosier
Phone:  304/340-3188
Email:  gcrosier@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Timothy R. Ennis
Phone:  304/340-3126
Email:  tennis@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Michael T. Ferro
Phone:  304/340-3111
Email:  mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Daniel J. Hall
Phone:  304/340-3119
Email:  djhall@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate K. Steven Kominar
Phone:  304/340-3186
Email:  kominar@verizon.net

Delegate Harold Michael
Phone:  304/340-3340
Email:  Harold@hardynet.com

Delegate Alex J. Shook
Phone:  304/340-3173
Email:  ashook@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Margaret Donaldson Smith
Phone:  304/340-3123
Email:  peggydonaldsonsmith@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dale Stephens
Phone:  304/340-3395
Email:  DelegateStephens@comcast.net

Delegate Josh Stowers
Phone:  304/340-3384
Email:  jstowers@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate David Walker
Phone:  304/340-3135
Email:  dwalker@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Danny Wells
Phone:  304/340-3287
Email:  danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Armstead
Phone:  304/340-3240
Email:  armstead@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Daryl Cowles
Phone:  304/340-3177
Email:  dcowles@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Allen V. Evans
Phone:  304/340-3399
Email:  aevans@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Mike Porter
Phone:  304/340-3172
Email:  tporter@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Ruth Rowan
Phone:  304/340-3157
Email:  ruth.rowan@wvhouse.gov