West Virginia Bills to Lower Personal Property Tax Assessments on Antique Motor Vehicles

Identical bills (H.B. 2407/2449) in the West Virginia Legislature to provide owners of antique motor vehicles with a fair and equitable personal property tax assessment have been introduced and referred to the House Roads and Transportation Committee.  The bills seek to address recent unfair valuation practices which have negatively impacted many West Virginia hobbyists.        

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Roads and Transportation Committee (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 2407/H.B. 2449.

  • West Virginia law defines an "Antique motor vehicle" to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item.
  • H.B. 2407 and H.B. 2449 provide that for the purposes of the property tax, the assessed value of an antique vehicle cannot exceed $200.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 2407 and H.B. 2449.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee

Delegate Dale Martin  – Chair
Phone: 304/340-3134
Email: dale.martin@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Margaret Anne Staggers - Vice-Chair
Phone: 304/340-3197
Email: margaret.staggers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Daryl Cowles - Minority Chair
Phone: 304/340-3177
Email: daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Allen Evans - Minority Vice-Chair
Phone: 304/340-3399
Email: allen.evans@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry W. Barker
Phone: 304/340-3149
Email: larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brent Boggs
Phone: 304/340-3220
Email: brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Greg Butcher
Phone: 304/340-3113
Email: gbutcher@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Thomas Campbell
Phone: 304/340-3280
Email: tcampbell@grcs.com
Delegate Gerald L. Crosier
Phone: 304/340-3188
Email: gcrosier@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Joe Elington
Phone: 304/340-3172
Email: joe.ellington@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Marty Gearheart
Phone: 304/340-3179
Email: marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Daniel J. Hall
Phone: 304/340-3119
Email: djhall@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Gary Howell
Phone: 304/340-3191
Email: gary.howell@wvhouse.gov
Delegate K. Steven Kominar
Phone: 304/340-3186
Email: kominar@verizon.net
Delegate Harold Michael
Phone: 304/340-3340
Email: Harold@hardynet.com

Delegate Eric Nelson
Phone: 304/340-3181
Email: nelson@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amanda Pasdon
Phone: 304/340-3153
Email: amanda.pasdon@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brian Savilla
Phone: 304/340-3141
Email: brian.savilla@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Skaff
Phone: 304/340-3362
Email: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Margaret Donaldson Smith
Phone: 304/340-3123
Email: peggydonaldsonsmith@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Rick Snuffer
Phone: 304/340-3183
Email: rick.snuffer@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dale Stephens
Phone: 304/340-3395
Email: DelegateStephens@comcast.net

Delegate Josh Stowers
Phone: 304/340-3384
Email: jstowers@mail.wvnet.edu
Delegate David Walker
Phone: 304/340-3135
Email: dwalker@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Danny Wells
Phone: 304/340-3287
Email: danny.wells@wvhouse.gov