West Virginia Bill Would Provide Special Plates for Collector Vehicles


West Virginia Bill Would Provide Special Plates for Collector Vehicles

Legislation (H.B. 4265) to provide for the issuance of special plates for use on collector vehicles and allow for the transfer of the special plates temporarily between the collector motor vehicles owned by the collector was introduced in West Virginia.  Delegate Gary Howell, the sponsor of the bill, indicates that most cars 25-years old and older will qualify for the collector plates.  The bill will be considered by the House Roads and Transportation Committee.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the House Roads and Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 4265

  • H.B. 4265 defines a “Collector motor vehicle” as a motor vehicle that is a restricted and limited use vehicle which is a unique commodity having a current monetary value in excess of similar make and model vehicles.  Collector vehicles may not be driven in excess of the maximum mileage permitted by the terms of a valid limited use motor vehicle insurance policy. 
  • H.B. 4265 provides that motor vehicle collectors may not offer for sale more than four motor vehicles at any specific time.
  • H.B. 4265 provides that collector plates may be used by the motor vehicle collector for the sole purpose of transporting or moving motor vehicles either titled or purchased by the collector.
  • H.B. 4265 provides that a collector may operate collector vehicles on the streets and highways without registering each collector motor vehicle if the vehicle displays the special plate.
  • H.B. 4265 provides that special collector plates shall be valid for a period of one year or portion of one year and that the annual fee is $100 for the first plate and $50 for each additional special plate issued, not to exceed a total of five plates.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 4265.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

margaret.staggers@wvhouse.gov; linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov; daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov; marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov; anthony.barill@wvhouse.gov; brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov; linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov; dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov; justin.marcum@wvhouse.gov; dan.poling@wvhouse.gov; doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov; peggydonaldsonsmith@wvhouse.gov; delegatestephens@comcast.net; josh.stowers@wvhouse.gov; david.walker@wvhouse.gov; danny.wells@wvhouse.gov; george.ambler@wvhouse.gov; jim.butler@wvhouse.gov; scott.cadle@wvhouse.gov; joe.ellington@wvhouse.gov; paul.espinosa@wvhouse.gov; david.evans@wvhouse.gov; danny.hamrick@wvhouse.gov; gary.howell@wvhouse.gov; john.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Margaret Anne Staggers (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3197
Delegate Linda Phillips (Vice Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3163
Delegate Daryl Cowles
Phone: (304) 340-3177
Delegate Marty Gearheart
Phone: (304) 340-3179
Delegate Anthony Barill
Phone: (304) 340-3173
Delegate Brent Boggs
Phone: (304) 340-3220
Delegate Linda Longstreth
Phone: (304) 340-3124
Delegate Dana Lynch
Phone: (304) 340-3916
Delegate Justin Marcum
Phone: (304) 340-3126
Delegate Daniel Poling
Phone: (304) 340-3137
Delegate Doug Skaff
Phone: (304) 340-3362
Delegate Margaret Smith
Phone: (304) 340-3123
Delegate Dale Stephens
Phone: (304) 340-3395
Delegate Josh Stowers
Phone: (304) 340-3337
Delegate David Walker
Phone: (304) 340-3135
Delegate Danny Wells
Phone: (304) 340-3287
Delegate George Ambler
Phone: (304) 340-3129
Delegate Jim Butler
Phone: (304) 340-3199
Delegate Scott Cadle
Phone: (304) 340-3118
Delegate Joe Ellington
Phone: (304) 340-3172
Delegate Paul Espinosa
Phone: (304) 340-3130
Delegate David Evans
Phone: (304) 340-3151
Delegate Danny Hamrick
Phone: (304) 340-3141
Delegate Gary Howell
Phone: (304) 340-3191
Delegate John Shott
Phone: (304) 340-3187