West Virginia Bill to Reduce Personal Property Taxes for Antique Motor Vehicles

A bill (H.B. 4222) in the West Virginia Legislature to provide owners of antique motor vehicles with a reduced personal property tax assessment has been passed by the Roads and Transportation Committee.  The bill is now pending in the House Finance Committee for consideration.        

We Urge You to Contact the Finance Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 4222.

  • West Virginia law defines an "Antique motor vehicle" to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item.
  • H.B. 4222 provides that for the purposes of the property tax, the assessed value of an antique vehicle cannot exceed $200.  Under the bill, the maximum amount of tax that could be due for an antique vehicle being titled for the first time would be 5% of the assessed value, or a maximum of $10.  Thereafter, the maximum amount of personal property tax due annually would be $2.00 for every $100 assessed in value, or a maximum of $4.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia House Finance Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 4222. Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

West Virginia House Finance Committee

Delegate Harry Keith White - Chair          
Phone: 304/340-3230
Email: hkwhite@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Thomas W. Campbell - Vice-Chair         
Phone: 304/340-3230
Email: tom.campbell@wvhouse.gov

Delegate William Anderson - Minority Chair        
Phone: 304/340-3168
Email: eanders1@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Mitch Carmichael - Minority Vice-Chair              
Phone: 304/340-3115
Email: mcarmich@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Kevin J. Craig
Phone: 304/340-3350
Email: kcraig1@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John Doyle     
Phone: 304/340-3184
Email: johndoyle@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Jeff Eldridge   
Phone: 304/340-3174
Email: jeffeldridge96@yahoo.com

Delegate Nancy Peoples Guthrie             
Phone: 304/340-3156
Email: nancy.guthrie@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Richard J. Iaquinta       
Phone: 304/340-3161
Email: iaquinta@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Orphy Klempa               
Phone: 304/340-3378
Email: orphy.klempa@wvhouse.gov

Delegate K. Steven Kominar      
Phone: 304/340-3186
Email: kominar@verizon.net

Delegate Virginia Mahan             
Phone: 304/340-3102
Email: vmahan@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Tim Manchin  
Phone: 304/340-3166
Email: tmanchin@manchin-aloi.com

Delegate Charlene Marshall       
Phone: 304/340-3900
Email: chmarsh@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Don Perdue   
Phone: 304/340-3269
Email: dperdue@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Linda Goode Phillips   
Phone: 304/340-3163
Email: lgphill@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Mary M. Poling             
Phone: 304/340-3265
Email: marypoli@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Doug Reynolds             
Phone: 304/340-3199
Email: delegatedoug@yahoo.com

Delegate Sharon Spencer            
Phone: 304/340-3218
Email: delspencer@aol.com

Delegate Scott Varner  
Phone: 304/340-3187
Email: svarner@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Bob Ashley     
Phone: 304/340-3185
Email: bashley@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Craig P. Blair   
Phone: 304/340-3122
Email: craig@delegatecraigblair.com

Delegate Larry Border   
Phone: 304/340-3136
Email: bordel@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Allen V. Evans               
Phone: 304/340-3399
Email: aevans@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Ron Walters   
Phone: 304/340-3194
Email: ronwalte@mail.wvnet.edu