West Virginia Bill to Protect Hobbyists From Unfair Exhaust Noise Citations

Legislation (H.B. 2456) that would allow West Virginia’s vehicle hobbyists to install and use aftermarket modified exhaust systems that meet a 95-decibel limit was reintroduced in the West Virginia State Legislature by Delegate Gary Howell (gary.howell@wvhouse.gov).  Current West Virginia law only allows a muffler originally installed by the manufacturer or an equivalent.

Contact members of the West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee (List Below) to request their support for H.B. 2456

  • H.B. 2456 would remove subjective provisions in the law and force compliance with an objectively measured standard.  Under the standard, exhaust noise could not exceed a sound reading of 95-decibels under a fair and predictable test.
  • H.B. 2456 would benefit consumers, the aftermarket industry and police officers who are charged with enforcing the law.
  • H.B. 2456 would remedy the enforcement policy currently used by police officers in which nearly all exhaust system modifications are considered illegal, even where noise levels are not excessive or unusual.  This policy leaves enthusiasts, exhaust system manufacturers and dealers without recourse.
  • H.B. 2456 recognizes that aftermarket exhaust systems are more durable, are designed to make vehicles run more efficiently without increasing emissions and offer increased performance, which can make a vehicle safer by improving its ability to merge, pass, travel uphill, etc.
  • H.B. 2456 challenges the erroneous assumption that enthusiasts who equip their vehicles with modified exhaust systems are involved in illegal street racing.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the House Roads and Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to urge their support for H.B. 2456.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee

Delegate Margaret Anne Staggers (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3197
E-mail: margaret.staggers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Linda Goode Phillips (Vice Chair)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3163
E-mail: linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Daryl Cowles (Minority Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3177
E-mail: daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Allen V. Evans (Minority Vice Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3399
E-mail: allen.evans@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry W. Barker
Phone: (304) 340-3149
E-mail: larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brent Boggs
Phone: (304) 340-3220
E-mail: brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Greg Butcher
Phone: (304) 340-3113
E-mail: greg.butcher@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Thomas W. Campbell
Phone: (304) 340-3280
E-mail: tcampbell@grcs.com

Delegate Gerald L. Crosier
Phone: (304) 340-3188
E-mail: gerald.crosier@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Daniel J. Hall
Phone: (304) 340-3119
E-mail: daniel.hall@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Harold Michael
Phone: (304) 340-3340
E-mail: harold@hardynet.com

Delegate Daniel Poling
Phone: (304) 340-3137
E-mail: dan.poling@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Skaff Jr.
Phone: (304) 340-3362
E-mail: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Margaret Donaldson Smith
Phone: (304) 340-3123
E-mail: peggydonaldsonsmith@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dale Stephens
Phone: (304) 340-3395
E-mail: delegatestephens@comcast.net

Delegate Josh Stowers
Phone: (304) 340-3384
E-mail: josh.stowers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate David Walker
Phone: (304) 340-3135
E-mail: david.walker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Danny Wells
Phone: (304) 340-3287
E-mail: danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Joe Ellington
Phone: (304) 340-3172
E-mail: joe.ellington@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Marty Gearheart
Phone: (304) 340-3179
E-mail: marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Gary G. Howell
Phone: (304) 340-3191
E-mail: gary.howell@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Eric Nelson
Phone: (304) 340-3181
E-mail: nelson@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amanda Pasdon
Phone: (304) 340-3153
E-mail: amanda.pasdon@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brian Savilla
Phone: (304) 340-3141
E-mail: brian.savilla@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Rick Snuffer
Phone: (304) 340-3183
E-mail: rick.snuffer@wvhouse.gov