West Virginia Bill Opens Hatfield-McCoy Recreation Area to Off-Road Vehicles

Legislation (H.B. 2664) to approve a regulation allowing off-road vehicles to operate on trails included in the Hatfield-McCoy Recreation Area has been introduced in the West Virginia House.  These trails are currently restricted to ATVs, dune buggy-type vehicles (referred to as "utility terrain vehicles" or "UTVs") and motorcycles.  Having already been approved by the House Transportation Committee, the bill is currently pending in the Judiciary Committee.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the West Virginia House Judiciary Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 2664

  • In West Virginia, "off road vehicles" are defined as motor vehicles that do not have low pressure tires and which are constructed, manufactured, or modified for off road driving.  
  • Under the regulation, licensed off road vehicle operators will be required to keep their registration on them and all operators of off road vehicles must be in possession of a current, valid driver’s license.  
  • Off-road vehicles must also comply with exhaust noise provisions.  SEMA/SAN is currently working with lawmakers to ensure that a proper and fair standard for testing the exhaust noise of off-road vehicles is applied.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact House Judiciary Committee members to request support for H.B. 2664.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

West Virginia House Judiciary Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Delegate Tim Miley (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3252
Delegate Tim Manchin (Vice Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3392
Delegate John Ellem (Minority Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3394
Delegate Patrick Lane (Minority Vice Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3275
Delegate Michael Ferro
Phone: (304) 340-3111
Delegate Barbara Fleischauer
Phone: (304) 340-3169
Delegate Mark Hunt
Phone: (304) 340-3366
Delegate Linda Longstreth
Phone: (304) 340-3124
Delegate Mike Manypenny
Phone: (304) 340-3139
Delegate Justin Marcum
Phone: (304) 340-3126
Delegate Cliff Moore
Phone: (304) 340-3189
Delegate John Pino
Phone: (304) 340-3170
Delegate Meshea Poore
Phone: (304) 340-3106
Delegate Stephen Skinner
Phone: (304) 340-3248
Delegate Isaac Sponaugle
Phone: (304) 340-3154
Delegate Danny Wells
Phone: (304) 340-3287
Delegate Cindy Frich
Phone: (304) 340-3125
Delegate Bill Hamilton
Phone: (304) 340-3167
Delegate Eric Householder
Phone: (304) 340-3274
Delegate Woody Ireland
Phone: (304) 340-3195
Delegate John McCuskey
Phone: (304) 340-3183
Delegate John O’Neal IV
Phone: (304) 340-3164
Delegate John Overington
Phone: (304) 340-3148
Delegate John Shott
Phone: (304) 340-3187
Delegate Kelli Sobonya
Phone: (304) 340-3175
Email: kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov