West Virginia Bill to Limit Property Taxes Paid on Antique/Classic Motor Vehicles Approved by Senate Transportation Committee; Moves to Finance Committee

A bill (H.B. 4068) to provide owners of antique and classic motor vehicles with a cap on property taxes paid on these vehicles was passed by the Senate Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.  Having already passed in the West Virginia House of Representatives, the bill will now be considered by the Senate Finance Committee.

We Urge You to Contact Senate Finance Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 4068

  • West Virginia law defines an "Antique motor vehicle" to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item.  The law defines a “Classic Motor Vehicle” as a motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is used for general transportation.
  • H.B. 4068 would value antique and classic motor vehicles for property taxes at $1,000.  At the most costly rate in West Virginia (approximately 3%), the actual property tax paid by antique or classic motor vehicle owners at the $1,000 value would still only be about $30 per year. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia Senate Finance Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 4068.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

Senate Finance Committee

To e-mail all members of the Committee, copy and paste the email address block below:

truman.chafin@wvsenate.gov; larry.edgell@wvsenate.gov; mike.green@wvsenate.gov; walt.helmick@wvsenate.gov; william.laird@wvsenate.gov; brooks.mccabe@wvsenate.gov; ronald.miller@wvsenate.gov; robert.plymale@wvsenate.gov; ron.stollings@frontier.com; john.unger@wvsenate.gov; erik.wells@wvsenate.gov; jack.yost@wvsenate.gov; donnaboley@suddenlink.net; mike.hall@wvsenate.gov; davesypolt@wvsenate.com; roman.prezioso@wvsenate.gov; douglas.facemire@wvsenate.gov

Senator Roman Prezioso (Chair)
Phone: (304) 357-7961
E-mail: roman.prezioso@wvsenate.gov

Senator Douglas E. Facemire (Vice Chair)
Phone: (304) 357-7845
E-mail: douglas.facemire@wvsenate.gov

Senator H. Truman Chafin
Phone: (304) 357-7808
E-mail: truman.chafin@wvsenate.gov

Senator Larry J. Edgell
Phone: (304) 357-7827
E-mail: larry.edgell@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mike Green
Phone: (304) 357-7831
E-mail: mike.green@wvsenate.gov

Senator Walt Helmick
Phone: (304) 357-7980
E-mail: walt.helmick@wvsenate.gov

Senator William R. Laird IV
Phone: (304) 357-7849
E-mail: william.laird@wvsenate.gov

Senator Brooks McCabe
Phone: (304) 357-7990
E-mail: brooks.mccabe@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ronald F. Miller
Phone: (304) 357-7959
E-mail: ronald.miller@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert H. Plymale
Phone: (304) 357-7937
E-mail: robert.plymale@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ron Stollings
Phone: (304) 357-7939
E-mail: ron.stollings@frontier.com

Senator John R. Unger II
Phone: (304) 357-7933
E-mail: john.unger@wvsenate.gov

Senator Erik Wells
Phone: (304) 357-7841
E-mail: erik.wells@wvsenate.gov

Senator Jack Yost
Phone: (304) 357-7984
E-mail: jack.yost@wvsenate.gov

Senator Donna J. Boley
Phone: (304) 357-7905
E-mail: donnaboley@suddenlink.net

Senator Mike Hall
Phone: (304) 357-7901
E-mail: mike.hall@wvsenate.gov

Senator Dave Sypolt
Phone: (304) 357-7914
E-mail: davesypolt@wvsenate.com

Back to Breaking News: 2012 Archives