West Virginia Bill to Limit Property Taxes Paid on Antique Motor Vehicles Approved; Moves Now to Finance Committee

A bill (H.B. 4068) has been introduced in the West Virginia State Legislature to provide owners of antique motor vehicles with a cap on property taxes paid on antique motor vehicles.  The bill was approved by the House Roads and Transportation Committee on January 25, 2012 and will now be considered by the House Finance Committee. 

We Urge You to Contact the Finance Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 4068

• West Virginia law defines an "Antique motor vehicle" to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item.

• H.B. 4068 would assess antique motor vehicles for property taxes at their salvage value.  That value could not exceed $500.  At the most costly rate in West Virginia (approximately 3%), the actual property tax paid by antique motor vehicle owners at the maximum salvage value would be only about $15 per year. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia Finance Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 4068.  Please   e-mail a copy of your letter to stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

Members of the West Virginia Finance Committee
Delegate Harry Keith White (Chair)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3230
E-mail: hkwhite@wvhouse.gov 

Delegate Thomas W. Campbell (Vice Chair)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3280
E-mail: tcampbell@grcs.com

Delegate Bill Anderson (Minority Chair)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3168
E-mail: bill.anderson@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mitch Carmichael (Minority Vice Chair)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3115
E-mail: mitch.carmichael@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Samuel J. Cann Sr.
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3118
E-mail: sam.cann@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Nancy Peoples Guthrie
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3156
E-mail: nancy.guthrie@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Richard J. Iaquinta
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3161
E-mail: richard.iaquinta@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Virginia Mahan
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3102
E-mail: virginia.mahan@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Charlene Marshall
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3900
E-mail: charlene.marshall@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Don Perdue
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3269
E-mail: don.perdue@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Linda Goode Phillips
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3163
E-mail: linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Daniel Poling
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3137
E-mail: dan.poling@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mary M. Poling
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3265
E-mail: mary.poling@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Reynolds
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3199
E-mail: delegatedoug@yahoo.com

Delegate Doug Skaff Jr.
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3362
E-mail: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov


Delegate Josh Stowers
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3384
E-mail: josh.stowers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Scott G. Varner
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3187
E-mail: scott.varner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry A. Williams
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3081
E-mail: larry.williams@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Troy Andes
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3121
E-mail: troy.andes@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bob Ashley
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3185
E-mail: bob.ashley@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ray Canterbury
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3131
E-mail: ray.canterbury@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Daryl Cowles
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3177
E-mail: daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Allen V. Evans
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3399
E-mail: allen.evans@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Carol Miller
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3176
E-mail: carol.miller@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ron Walters
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3194
E-mail: ron.walters@wvhouse.gov