West Virginia Bill to Create Criminal Offense for Certain Exhaust Systems


Legislation (H.B. 2251) that would make it a criminal offense to disturb the peace has been introduced in the West Virginia House.  Included in the definition of disturbing the peace is the "noise from an exhaust system of any vehicle that is not equipped or constructed so as to prevent any disturbing or unreasonably loud noise."  Vehicle owners convicted of a violation would be fined up to $1,000 per occurrence, confined up to 6 months in jail or both.

Contact members of the West Virginia House Judiciary Committee(List Below) to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 2251

  • Current West Virginia law only allows a muffler originally installed by the manufacturer or an equivalent.  The law provides no objective noise measurement standard for exhaust systems that would benefit consumers, industry and police officers who are charged with enforcing the law.  The term “disturbing or unreasonably loud” is highly subjective and open to wide interpretation.
  • H.B. 2251 doesn’t recognize that aftermarket exhaust systems are more durable, designed to make vehicles run more efficiently without increasing emissions and offer increased performance, which can make a vehicle safer by improving its ability to merge, pass, travel uphill, etc.
  • H.B. 2251 continues the erroneous assumption that enthusiasts who equip their vehicles with modified exhaust systems are involved in illegal street racing or other illegal activity.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committeeimmediately by phone or e-mail to urge opposition to H.B. 2251.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance. 

West Virginia House Judiciary Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

john.shott@wvhouse.gov; patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov; tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com; stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov; mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov; frank.deem@wvhouse.gov; tom.fast@wvhouse.gov; michael.folk@wvhouse.gov; geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov; roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov; woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov; john.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov; john@overington.com; kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov; amy.summers@wvhouse.gov; terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov; ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov; brad.white@wvhouse.gov; andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov; barbaraf@wvhouse.gov; shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov; ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov; dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov; clif.moore@wvhouse.gov; larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Shott (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3252
Email: john.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3252
Email: patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Manchin
Phone: (304) 340-3331
Email: tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Delegate Stephen Skinner
Phone: (304) 340-3248
Email: stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Azinger
Phone: (304) 340-3202
Email: mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Frank Deem
Phone: (304) 340-3137
Email: frank.deem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tom Fast
Phone: (304) 340-3170
Email: tom.fast@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Folk
Phone: (304) 340-3350
Email: michael.folk@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Geoff Foster
Phone: (304) 340-3121
Email: geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Roger Hanshaw
Phone: (304) 340-3135
Email: roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood Ireland
Phone: (304) 340-3195
Email: woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John McCuskey
Phone: (304) 340-3183
Email: john.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Overington
Phone: (304) 340-3148
Email: john@overington.com

Delegate Kelli Sobonya
Phone: (304) 340-3175
Email: kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amy Summers
Phone: (304) 340-3139
Email: amy.summers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Terry Waxman
Phone: (304) 340-3171
Email: terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ryan Weld
Phone: (304) 340-3367
Email: ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brad White
Phone: (304) 340-31
Email: brad.white@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Andrew Byrd
Phone: (304) 340-3362
Email: andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Fleischauer
Phone: (304) 340-3127
Email: barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Shawn Fluharty
Phone: (304) 340-3270
Email: shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kenneth Hicks
Phone: (304) 340-3155
Email: ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dana Lynch
Phone: (304) 340-3916
Email: dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Clif Moore
Phone: (304) 340-3165
Email: clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry Rowe
Phone: (304) 340-3287
Email: larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov