West Virginia Bill to Allow Uncovered Aftermarket Light Bars Approved by Committee; Moves to Judiciary


Legislation (H.B. 2225) to eliminate the requirement that roof-mounted off-road light bars be covered when vehicles are operated on roads and highways was approved by the House Roads and Transportation Committee.  The bill would also allow owners of vehicles to install or use aftermarket light bars and do so without obtaining approval from the Commissioner of Highways.  H.B. 2225 has now been referred to the House Judiciary Committee.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Judiciary Committee Immediately to Request Their Support for H.B. 2225

  • H.B. 2225 still requires that light bars be turned off when vehicles are being operated on roads and highways.
  • H.B. 2225 promotes the fact that many off-road hobbyists prefer the performance and design of aftermarket lighting equipment.
  • H.B. 2225 promotes the fact that aftermarket lighting systems, including light bars, have many legitimate off-highway uses including the facilitation of hunting and camping activities.
  • H.B. 2225 promotes the fact that aftermarket lighting systems are manufactured to improve off-road safety.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia House Judiciary Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for H.B. 2225.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance. 

West Virginia House Judiciary Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

john.shott@wvhouse.gov; patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov; tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com; stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov; mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov; frank.deem@wvhouse.gov; tom.fast@wvhouse.gov; michael.folk@wvhouse.gov; geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov; roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov; woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov; john.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov; john@overington.com; kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov; amy.summers@wvhouse.gov; terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov; ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov; brad.white@wvhouse.gov; andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov; barbaraf@wvhouse.gov; shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov; ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov; dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov; clif.moore@wvhouse.gov; larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Shott (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3252
Email: john.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3252
Email: patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Manchin
Phone: (304) 340-3331
Email: tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Delegate Stephen Skinner
Phone: (304) 340-3248
Email: stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Azinger
Phone: (304) 340-3202
Email: mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Frank Deem
Phone: (304) 340-3137
Email: frank.deem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tom Fast
Phone: (304) 340-3170
Email: tom.fast@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Folk
Phone: (304) 340-3350
Email: michael.folk@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Geoff Foster
Phone: (304) 340-3121
Email: geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Roger Hanshaw
Phone: (304) 340-3135
Email: roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood Ireland
Phone: (304) 340-3195
Email: woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John McCuskey
Phone: (304) 340-3183
Email: john.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Overington
Phone: (304) 340-3148
Email: john@overington.com

Delegate Kelli Sobonya
Phone: (304) 340-3175
Email: kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amy Summers
Phone: (304) 340-3139
Email: amy.summers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Terry Waxman
Phone: (304) 340-3171
Email: terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ryan Weld
Phone: (304) 340-3367
Email: ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brad White
Phone: (304) 340-31
Email: brad.white@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Andrew Byrd
Phone: (304) 340-3362
Email: andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Fleischauer
Phone: (304) 340-3127
Email: barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Shawn Fluharty
Phone: (304) 340-3270
Email: shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kenneth Hicks
Phone: (304) 340-3155
Email: ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dana Lynch
Phone: (304) 340-3916
Email: dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Clif Moore
Phone: (304) 340-3165
Email: clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry Rowe
Phone: (304) 340-3287
Email: larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov