Washington State Introduces Bill to Restrict Year of Manufacture License Plates


DON’T DELAY!  Contact All Members of the Washington House Transportation Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • In Washington, a “Collector Vehicle” is any motor vehicle that is more than thirty years old. Vehicles registered as collector vehicles may be driven to and from auto shows, circuses, parades, displays, special excursions, and antique car club meetings, but may not be used for regular transportation in the manner of a fully licensed vehicle.
  • The cut-off date of 1987 is being included in the bill because plates in that year and in subsequent years are virtually indistinguishable from plates that are currently in use for general transportation vehicles.  

Overview: Legislation (H.B. 2905) has been introduced to allow a person applying for a collector vehicle license plate for a vehicle manufactured in or before 1986 to receive either a collector vehicle plate assigned by the state or provide an actual Washington State year of manufacture plate for use on the vehicle.  Under the bill, a person applying for a collector vehicle license plate for a vehicle manufactured in or after 1987 must only be issued a collector license plate issued by the state.   



Washington House Transportation Committee

Representative Judy Clibborn (Chair)
Phone: (360) 786-7926
Email: judy.clibborn@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jessyn Farrell (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (360) 786-7818
Email: jessyn.farrell@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jake Fey (Vice Chair)
Phone: (360) 786-7974
Email: jake.fey@leg.wa.gov

Representative Luis Moscoso (Vice Chair)
Phone: (360) 786-7900
Email: luis.moscoso@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ed Orcutt
Phone: (360) 786-7990
Email: ed.orcutt@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mark Hargrove
Phone: (360) 786-7918
Email: mark.hargrove@leg.wa.gov

Representative Steve Bergquist
Phone: (360) 786-7862
Email: steve.bergquist@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mia Gregerson
Phone: (360) 786-7868
Email: mia.gregerson@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mark Harmsworth
Phone: (360) 786-7892
Email: mark.harmsworth@leg.wa.gov

Representative Dave Hayes
Phone: (360) 786-7914
Email: dave.hayes@leg.wa.gov

Representative Linda Kochmar
Phone: (360) 786-7898
Email: linda.kochmar@leg.wa.gov

Representative Joan McBride
Phone: (360) 786-7848
Email: joan.mcbride@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jim Moeller
Phone: (360) 786-7872
Email: jim.moeller@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jeff Morris
Phone: (360) 786-7970
Email: jeff.morris@leg.wa.gov

Representative Lillian Ortiz-Self
Phone: (360) 786-7972
Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov

Representative Liz Pike
Phone: (360) 786-7890
Email: liz.pike@leg.wa.gov

Representative Marcus Riccelli
Phone: (360) 786-7888
Email: marcus.riccelli@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jay Rodne
Phone: (360) 786-7852
Email: jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mike Sells
Phone: (360) 786-7840
Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov

Representative Matt Shea
Phone: (360) 786-7984
Email: matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

Representative Dean Takko
Phone: (360) 786-7806
Email: dean.takko@leg.wa.gov

Representative Gael Tarleton
Phone: (360) 786-7860
Email: gael.tarleton@leg.wa.gov

Representative Lynda Wilson
Phone: (360) 786-7994
Email: lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jesse Young
Phone: (360) 786-7964
Email: jesse.young@leg.wa.gov

Representative Hans Zeiger
Phone: (360) 786-7968
Email: hans.zeiger@leg.wa.gov