Virginia Introduces Bill to Impose Road Usage Fee on Fuel-Efficient Motor Vehicles


Legislation (H.B. 623) has been introduced in Virginia to impose a $64 annual road usage fee on any other motor vehicle that has a combined city/highway fuel economy rating equal to or greater than 40 miles per gallon according to standards and regulations of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Finance Committee (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.B. 623

  • H.B. 623 seeks to penalize national efforts to create a more fuel efficient vehicle fleet.  As gas tax revenues decrease due to hybrid and electric vehicle ownership, states are looking for new sources of funding for pet projects.  Owners of fuel-efficient vehicles should not bear an increased burden for choosing these vehicles.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Virginia House Finance Committee immediately to request their opposition to H.B. 623   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Virginia House Finance Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Delegate Lee Ware (Chair)
Phone: (804) 698-1065
Delegate Robert Orrock Sr.
Phone: (804) 698-1054
Delegate Kathy Byron
Phone: (804) 698-1022
Delegate Mark Cole
Phone: (804) 698-1088
Delegate Timothy Hugo
Phone: (804) 698-1040
Delegate Benjamin Cline
Phone: (804) 698-1024
Delegate Robert Marshall
Phone: (804) 698-1013
Delegate Brenda Pogge
Phone: (804) 698-1096
Delegate Richard Bell
Phone: (804) 698-1020
Delegate Israel O’Quinn
Phone: (804) 698-1005
Delegate Christopher Head
Phone: (804) 698-1017
Delegate Peter Farrell
Phone: (804) 698-1056
Delegate C. Matthew Fariss
Phone: (804) 698-1059
Delegate Buddy Fowler
Phone: (804) 698-1055
Delegate Bill DeSteph Jr.
Phone: (804) 698-1082
Delegate Vivian Watts
Phone: (804) 698-1039
Delegate Lynwood Lewis Jr.
Phone: (804) 698-1000
Delegate Mark Keam
Phone: (804) 698-1035
Delegate Matthew James
Phone: (804) 698-1080
Delegate Betsy Carr
Phone: (804) 698-1069
Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn
Phone: (804) 698-1041
Delegate Michael Futrell
Phone: (804) 698-1002