Virginia Bill to be Amended to Benefit Vehicle Restoration Projects; Subcommittee Hearing Rescheduled for Wed., Feb. 8

Legislation (H.B. 878) that originally threatened to provide localities with the authority to raise from $100 to $500 the amount charged for an annual license tax for vehicles that do not display current license plates was held over by Subcommittee #1 of the Virginia House Counties, Cities and Towns Committee.  The subcommittee will now consider the measure on Feb. 8, 2012.  Working with Virginia hobbyist groups over the past week, we renegotiated the amendment with the bill’s sponsor to 1) totally exempt all vehicles 25 years old and older from the license tax that are undergoing restoration or repair and 2) extend the exemption to all other vehicles (including parts cars) undergoing restoration or repair that are stored on private property for fewer than 60 days.  Vehicles stored within a structure would remain exempted from the tax.

We Urge You to Contact Members of Subcommittee #1, Committee on Counties, Cities and Towns (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for the Substitute H.B. 878

  • Under current law, all vehicles, even those 25 years old and older are subject to the license tax.  Under the substitute to H.B. 878, the exemption for these cars undergoing restoration (for as long a time period as the restoration work requires) represents a new benefit to older car owners.
  • The amendment to H.B. 878 demonstrates a real effort by legislators and hobbyists to enact reasonable and fair compromise legislation. 

Please contact members of the House Committee on Counties, Cities and Towns, Subcommittee 1 immediately by e-mail to request their support for the substitute H.B. 878. Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at Thank you for your assistance.

Virginia House Committee on Counties, Cities and Towns, Subcommittee #1

Delegate Anne B. Crockett-Stark (Chairman)
Phone: (804) 698-1006

Delegate Robert G. Marshall
Phone: (804) 698-1013

Delegate Salvatore R. Iaquinto
Phone: (804) 698-1084

Delegate Charles D. Poindexter
Phone: (804) 698-1009

Delegate James W. Morefield
Phone: (804) 698-1003

Delegate James E. Edmunds, II
Phone: (804) 698-1060

Delegate James M. LeMunyon  
Phone: (804) 698-1067

Delegate Delores L. McQuinn  
Phone: (804) 698-1070

Delegate Scott A. Surovell  
Phone: (804) 698-1044

Delegate Kaye Kory
Phone: (804) 698-1038


Back to Breaking News: 2012 Archives