Bill to Benefit Vehicle Restoration Projects Reintroduced In Virginia

Last year, legislation amended by the SEMA Action Network (SAN) to totally exempt from the license tax ALL vehicles and parts cars stored on private property for the purpose of restoration or repair was vetoed by Governor Bob McDonnell.  Under the vetoed bill, vehicles stored within a structure would have remained exempt from the tax.  You may recall that the bill originally threatened to provide localities with the authority to raise from $100 to $500 the amount charged for an annual license tax for vehicles that do not display current license plates.  Identical legislation (H.B. 1990), which includes the SAN amendments, has been reintroduced for 2013 and we encourage your support.   

We Urge You to Contact All Members of Sub-Committee #1, House Counties, Cities and Towns Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for H.B. 1990

  • Under current law, all vehicles, even those 25 years old and older are subject to the license tax.  Under H.B. 1990, the exemption for all cars, regardless of age that are undergoing restoration (for as long a time period as the restoration work requires) represents a new benefit to car owners. 
  • H.B. 1990 demonstrates a real effort by legislators and hobbyists to enact reasonable and fair compromise legislation. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of Sub-Committee #1, House Counties, Cities and Towns Committee immediately by e-mail to request their support for H.B. 1990. Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Virginia House Counties, Cities and Towns Committee, Sub-Committee #1

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;

Delegate Anne B. Crockett-Stark (Chair)
Phone: 804-698-1006

Delegate Robert Marshall
Phone: 804-698-1013

Delegate Salvatore Iaquinto
Phone: 804-698-1084

Delegate Charles Poindexter
Phone: 803-698-1009

Delegate James Morefield
Phone: 804-698-1003

Delegate James Edmunds, II
Phone: 804-698-1060

Delegate James LeMunyon
Phone: 804-698-1067

Delegate Delores McQuinn
Phone: 804-698-1070

Delegate Scott Surovell
Phone: 804-698-1044

Delegate Kaye Kory
Phone: 804-698-1038