Utah Bill to Ban the Sale of Aftermarket Exhaust Systems is On the Move

A substitute bill (S.B. 106) to ban the use of most aftermarket exhaust systems has been introduced in the Utah State Legislature by Senator Patricia Jones (pjones@utahsenate.org) and passed by the Senate Transportation Committee.  The bill now moves to the floor of the Senate for a vote by all members.  Under the substitute bill, all vehicles must be equipped with an exhaust system that is “installed by the original manufacturer of the vehicle and is not modified; or meets specifications equivalent to the muffler installed by the original manufacturer of the vehicle and is not modified.”
We Urge You to Contact All Utah State Senators (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to S.B. 106.

  • S.B. 106 ignores the fact that aftermarket exhaust systems are designed to make vehicles run more efficiently without increasing emissions.
  • S.B. 106 does not supply law enforcement with a clear standard to enforce, allowing them to make subjective judgments on whether or not a modified exhaust system is in violation.
  • S.B. 106 fails to recognize that aftermarket exhaust systems offer increased performance, which can make a vehicle safer by improving its ability to merge, pass, travel uphill, etc.
  • S.B. 106 would make it difficult for hobbyists to replace factory exhaust systems with more durable, better performing options.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all Utah Senators immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to S.B. 106.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

Utah State Senators

Senator Luz Robles
Phone: 801/521-0407    
Email: lrobles@utahsenate.org

Senator Ben McAdams
Phone: 801/359-2544
Email: bmcadams@utahsenate.org

Senator Patricia W. Jones
Phone: 801/322-5722
Email: pjones@utahsenate.org

Senator Karen Mayne
Phone: 801/968-7756
Email: kmayne@utahsenate.org

Senator Michael G. Waddoups
Phone: 801/355-1136    
Email: waddoups@utahsenate.org

Senator Ross I. Romero
Phone: 801/844-7229    
Email: rromero@utahsenate.org

Senator Karen W. Morgan          
Phone: 801/538-1406
Email: kmorgan@utahsenate.org

Senator Wayne Niederhauser
Phone: 801/558-4766
Email: wniederhauser@utahsenate.org

Senator D. Chris Buttars
Phone: 801/561-0535
Email: dcbuttars@utahsenate.org

Senator Mark B. Madsen             
Phone: 801/361-4787
Email: mmadsen@utahsenate.org

Senator John L. Valentine
Phone: 801/373-6345
Email: jvalentine@utahsenate.org
Senator Margaret Dayton
Phone: 801/221-0623
Email: mdayton@utahsenate.org

Senator Curtis S. Bramble
Phone: 801/226-3663
Email: cbramble@utahsenate.org

Senator Peter C. Knudson
Phone: 435/723-6366
Email: pknudson@utahsenate.org

Senator Jon J. Greiner  
Phone: 801/629-8226
Email: jgreiner@utahsenate.org

Senator Allen M. Christensen
Phone: 801/710-0315
Email: achristensen@utahsenate.org

Senator Scott K. Jenkins
Phone: 801/621-5412
Email: sjenkins@utahsenate.org

Senator Davis Jerry W. Stevenson
Phone: 801/430-2575
Email: jstevenson@utahsenate.org

Senator Davis Stuart Adams
Phone: 801/546-6000
Email: sadams@utahsenate.org

Senator Davis Daniel R. Liljenquist
Phone: 801/294-2378
Email: dliljenquist@utahsenate.org

Senator Wayne Ralph Okerlund               
Phone: 435/979-7077
Email: rokerlund@utahsenate.org

Senator Rich Lyle W. Hillyard
Phone: 435/752-2610
Email: lhillyard@utahsenate.org

Senator Kevin Van Tassell
Phone: 435/789-7082
Email: kvantassell@utahsenate.org

Senator David P. Hinkins
Phone: 435/748-2828
Email: dhinkins@utahsenate.org

Senator Dennis E. Stowell
Phone: 435/559-8143
Email: dstowell@utahsenate.org

Senator Stephen H. Urquhart
Phone: 435/668-7759
Email: surquhart@utahsenate.org

Senator Gene Davis
Phone: 801/484-9442    
Email: gdavis@utahsenate.org

Senator Brent Goodfellow
Phone: 801/556-4871    
Email: bgoodfellow@utahsenate.org

Senator Howard Stephenson
Phone: 801/972-8814
Email: hstephenson@utahsenate.org