Texas Considers Taxing Cars for Miles Traveled


Legislation (H.B. 1309) to impose a vehicle miles traveled (VMT) tax on state motorists has been introduced in Texas.  Under the bill, the amount of the VMT tax would vary by vehicle type. Vehicles weighing 10,000 lbs or less would be taxed at a rate of 1 cent per mile, vehicles weighing more than 10,000 lbs at 1.25 cents per mile and electric vehicles at .75 cents per mile.  The tax would be offset by a motor fuels tax credit which would be determined using the vehicle’s VMT and fuel economy data such that as fuel economy goes up, the credit decreases to ensure vehicles paying less in fuel taxes get a smaller  credit and pay more in VMT.  The actual VMT would be measured using an annual odometer inspection.  

We Urge You to Contact the House Ways and Means CommitteeMembers (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.B. 1309

  • H.B 1309 will limit consumer choice in purchasing vehicles by making some popular SUVs, light trucks and minivans, substantially more expensive to own.
  • H.B. 1309 will potentially lead to more deaths on Texas highways as higher taxes on larger, safer vehicles forces consumers into smaller cars with higher accident fatality rates.
  • H.B. 1309 will do little to improve air quality.  Air quality has more to do with overall basic vehicle maintenance than it does with owning and operating any particular class of vehicle.
  • H.B. 1309 penalizes national efforts to create a more fuel efficient vehicle fleet.  As gas tax revenues decrease due to hybrid and electric vehicle ownership, states are looking for new sources of funding for pet projects.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Texas House Ways and Means Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 1309.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Texas House Ways and Means Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

harvey.hilderbran@house.state.tx.us; john.otto@house.state.tx.us; dwayne.bohac@house.state.tx.us; angie.button@house.state.tx.us; craig.eiland@house.state.tx.us; naomi.gonzalez@house.state.tx.us; trey.martinez.fischer@house.state.tx.us; allan.ritter@house.state.tx.us; mark.strama@house.state.tx.us

Representative Harvey Hilderbran (Chair)
Phone: (512) 463-0536
Representative John Otto (Vice Chair)
Phone: (512) 463-0570 
Representative Dwayne Bohac
Phone: (512) 463-0727
Representative Angie Chen Button
Phone: (512) 463-0486
Representative Craig Eiland
Phone: (512) 463-0502 
Representative Naomi Gonzalez
Phone: (512) 463-0622 
Representative Trey Martinez Fischer
Phone: (512) 463-0616
Representative Allan Ritter
Phone: (512) 463-0706
Representative Mark Strama
Phone: (512) 463-0821