Tennessee Bills to Exempt Antique Vehicles From Privilege Tax to be Considered in Committee on Feb. 19, 2014


Tennessee Bills to Exempt Antique Vehicles From Privilege Tax to be Considered in Committee on Feb. 19, 2014 

Identical legislation (H.B. 1487/S.B. 1688) in the Tennessee House and Senate to allow counties to exempt owners of antique motor vehicles from the privilege tax will be considered in committee on February 19, 2014.  The county may also only require a one-time only payment of the tax.  According to the state, the average amount of the one-time tax imposed would be $43.10.

If You Have Not Done So Already, We Urge You to Contact House Subcommittee Members and Senate Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately to Request Their Support for H.B. 1487/S.B. 1688

  • In Tennessee, an "antique motor vehicle" is a motor vehicle over twenty-five years old with a nonmodified engine and body that is used for participation in, or transportation to and from, club activities, exhibits, tours, parades, and similar uses as a collector's item; on the highways for the purpose of selling, testing the operation of, or obtaining repairs to or maintenance; and for general transportation only on Saturday and Sunday.
  • Sixty out of ninety-five counties in Tennessee impose a motor vehicle privilege tax. The average tax rate among the 60 counties that impose the tax is estimated to be $43.10.
  • H.B. 1487/S.B. 1688 recognize the fact that existing antique motor vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained, infrequently operated hobby cars and deserving of tax benefits.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Tennessee House Transportation Subcommittee and Senate Transportation and Safety Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for H.B. 1487 and S.B. 1688.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Tennessee House Transportation Subcommittee

To e-mail all Subcommittee members in support of H.B. 1487, copy and paste the email address block below:

rep.terri.lynn.weaver@capitol.tn.gov; rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov; rep.vince.dean@capitol.tn.gov; rep.bill.dunn@capitol.tn.gov; rep.tilman.goins@capitol.tn.gov; rep.bo.mitchell@capitol.tn.gov; rep.courtney.rogers@capitol.tn.gov; rep.mike.sparks@capitol.tn.gov; rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Terri Lynn Weaver (Chair)
Phone: (615) 741-2192
Representative Barbara Cooper
Phone: (615) 741-4295
Representative Vince Dean
Phone: (615) 741-1934
Representative Bill Dunn
Phone: (615) 741-1721
Representative Tilman Goins
Phone: (615) 741-6877
Representative Bo Mitchell
Phone: (615) 741-4317
Representative Courtney Rogers
Phone: (615) 741-3893
Representative Mike Sparks
Phone: (615) 741-6829
Representative John Mark Windle
Phone: (615) 741-1260
Tennessee Senate Transportation and Safety Committee
To e-mail all Senate Committee members in support of S.B. 1688, copy and paste the email address block below:
Senator Jim Tracy (Chair)
Phone: (615) 741-1066
Senator Mae Beavers (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (615) 741-2421
Senator Frank Niceley (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (615) 741-2061
Senator Janice Bowling
Phone: (615) 741-6694
Senator Stacey Campfield
Phone: (615) 741-1766
Senator Ophelia Ford
Phone: (615) 741-1767
Senator Thelma Harper
Phone: (615) 741-2453
Senator Becky Massey
Phone: (615) 741-1648
Senator Steve Southerland
Phone: (615) 741-3851