Tennessee Bills to Exempt Antique Vehicles From Privilege Tax Approved by Committees


Tennessee Bills to Exempt Antique Vehicles From Privilege Tax Approved by Committees

Identical legislation (H.B. 1487/S.B. 1688) in the Tennessee House and Senate to allow counties to exempt owners of antique motor vehicles from the privilege tax were approved in committee.  H.B. 1487 was passed by a House Transportation Subcommittee and will now be considered by the full committee.  S.B. 1688 was passed by the Senate Transportation and Safety Committee and will be sent to the Senate floor for a vote by all members.  Under both bills, the county may also only require a one-time only payment of the tax.  According to the state, the average amount of the one-time tax imposed would be $43.10.

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation Committee Members and All Members of the Senate (Lists Attached) Immediately to Request Their Support for H.B. 1487/S.B. 1688

  • In Tennessee, an "antique motor vehicle" is a motor vehicle over twenty-five years old with a nonmodified engine and body that is used for participation in, or transportation to and from, club activities, exhibits, tours, parades, and similar uses as a collector's item; on the highways for the purpose of selling, testing the operation of, or obtaining repairs to or maintenance; and for general transportation only on Saturday and Sunday.
  • Sixty out of ninety-five counties in Tennessee impose a motor vehicle privilege tax. The average tax rate among the 60 counties that impose the tax is estimated to be $43.10.
  • H.B. 1487/S.B. 1688 recognize the fact that existing antique motor vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained, infrequently operated hobby cars and deserving of tax benefits.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Tennessee House Transportation Committee to request their support for H.B. 1487 and the Tennessee Senate to request support for S.B. 1688.      

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Tennessee House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

rep.vince.dean@capitol.tn.gov; rep.mike.sparks@capitol.tn.gov; rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov; rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov; rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov; rep.dale.carr@capitol.tn.gov; rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov; rep.bill.dunn@capitol.tn.gov; rep.tilman.goins@capitol.tn.gov; rep.kelly.keisling@capitol.tn.gov; rep.mary.littleton@capitol.tn.gov; rep.jimmy.matlock@capitol.tn.gov; rep.bo.mitchell@capitol.tn.gov; rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov; rep.courtney.rogers@capitol.tn.gov; rep.bill.sanderson@capitol.tn.gov; rep.terri.lynn.weaver@capitol.tn.gov; rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Vince Dean (Chair)
Phone: (615) 741-1934
Representative Mike Sparks (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (615) 741-6829
Representative David Alexander
Phone: (615) 741-8695
Representative Joe Armstrong
Phone: (615) 741-0768
Representative Karen Camper
Phone: (615) 741-1898
Representative Dale Carr
Phone: (615) 741-5981
Representative Barbara Cooper
Phone: (615) 741-4295
Representative Bill Dunn
Phone: (615) 741-1721
Representative Tilman Goins
Phone: (615) 741-6877
Representative Kelly Keisling
Phone: (615) 741-6852
Representative Mary Littleton
Phone: (615) 741-7477
Representative Jimmy Matlock
Phone: (615) 741-3736
Representative Bo Mitchell
Phone: (615) 741-4317
Representative Dennis Roach
Phone: (615) 741-2534
Representative Courtney Rogers
Phone: (615) 741-3893
Representative Bill Sanderson
Phone: (615) 741-0718
Representative Terry Lynn Weaver
Phone: (615) 741-2192
Representative John Mark Windle
Phone: (615) 741-1260

Tennessee Senate

To e-mail all Senators, copy and paste the email address block below:

sen.mae.beavers@capitol.tn.gov; sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov; sen.janice.bowling@capitol.tn.gov; sen.charlotte.burks@capitol.tn.gov; sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov; sen.rusty.crowe@capitol.tn.gov; sen.steven.dickerson@capitol.tn.gov; sen.lowe.finney@capitol.tn.gov; sen.ophelia.ford@capitol.tn.gov; sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov; sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov; sen.dolores.gresham@capitol.tn.gov; sen.ferrell.haile@capitol.tn.gov; sen.thelma.harper@capitol.tn.gov; sen.douglas.henry@capitol.tn.gov; sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov; sen.jack.johnson@capitol.tn.gov; sen.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov; sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov; sen.jim.kyle@capitol.tn.gov; sen.becky.massey@capitol.tn.gov; sen.randy.mcnally@capitol.tn.gov; sen.frank.niceley@capitol.tn.gov; sen.mark.norris@capitol.tn.gov; sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov; sen.steve.southerland@capitol.tn.gov; sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov; sen.jim.summerville@capitol.tn.gov; sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov; sen.jim.tracy@capitol.tn.gov; sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov; sen.ken.yager@capitol.tn.gov