South Dakota Bill to Provide for Single License Plate for Special Interest Vehicles to be Considered on Tuesday, February 9, 2016


DON’T DELAY!  Please request support for H.B. 1164 immediately from the South Dakota House Transportation Committee  (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • H.B. 1164 defines a special interest motor vehicle as “a vehicle that is collected, preserved, restored, or maintained by the owner as a leisure pursuit and is not used for general or commercial transportation.”
  • H.B. 1164 requires that the special plate be distinct from regular plates, fastened to the rear of the vehicle and that the regular plates are kept in the vehicle.  
  • H.B. 1164 provides for a $10 fee for the initial plate and for the annual validation sticker.
  • H.B. 1164 provides that the vehicle owner must sign an affidavit attesting that the vehicle is driven less than five thousand miles per year; is not used for general or commercial transportation, but only for occasional transportation, public displays, parades, and related pleasure or hobby activities; and the current reading on the odometer.
  • H.B. 1164 would save money, conserve resources and bring South Dakota in line with other states that have moved to a single plate requirement.
  • H.B. 1164 would protect the aesthetic contours of special interest motor vehicles and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on some original bumpers. 

Overview:  Legislation (H.B. 1164) to allow the issuance of a single license plate for special interest motor vehicles will be considered in the House Transportation Committee on Tuesday, February 9, 2016.  The bill, favored by state hobbyists, requires that the single registration plate be attached to the rear of the special interest motor vehicle.    




South Dakota House Transportation Committee

Representative Jim Bolin

Representative Mary Duvall

Representative Dennis Feickert

Representative Dan Kaiser

Representative Nancy Rasmussen

Representative Tim Rounds

Representative James Schaefer

Representative Lee Schoenbeck

Representative Dean Schrempp

Representative Jim Stalzer

Representative Wayne Steinhauer

Representative Mike Verchio

Representative Dick Werner