Pennsylvania Introduces Bill to Extend Emissions Inspection Waiver For Newer Cars


Legislation (S.B. 1532) has been introduced in the Pennsylvania State Senate to extend the emissions inspection exemption to vehicles never before registered in the state or any other jurisdiction for ten years from the date of original registration.  Current law only exempts new vehicles that have less than 5,000 miles on their odometer for one year after their first registration.

We Urge You to Contact Pennsylvania Senate Transportation Committee Members (Contact InformationBelow) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 1532

  • S.B. 1532 acknowledges the relatively minimal environmental impact of the new vehicles targeted for this exemption.
  • S.B. 1532 acknowledges that it is senseless to test newer vehicles, the results of which demonstrate no significant air quality benefits.   The idea behind exempting any class of vehicles is to reduce costs while not losing appreciable emission reductions.  This strategy builds support for emission inspection programs, but also directs finite resources to where they will be most valuable in cleaning the air.  
  • S.B. 1532 still requires that the newest ten model year vehicles be subject to visual anti-tampering inspections for the presence of emissions control components installed on the vehicle by manufacturers.
  • Pennsylvania already exempts pre-1975 vehicles from emissions testing.  The logic for this trend is clear; such vehicles do not contribute in significant ways to air quality problems.  This logic applies equally to newer cars.   

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Pennsylvania Senate Transportation Committee immediately to request their support for S.B. 1532.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Thank you for your assistance.


Pennsylvania Senate Transportation Committee

To e-mail all members of the Pennsylvania Senate Transportation Committee, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;;;

Senator John C. Rafferty Jr. (Chair)
Phone: (717) 787-1398 

Senator Donald C. White (Vice Chair)
Phone: (717) 787-8724 

Senator John N. Wozniak (Minority Chair)
Phone: (717) 787-5400 

Senator Joseph B. Scarnati III
Phone: (717) 787-7084

Senator Jane M. Earll
Phone: (717) 787-8927 

Senator John H. Eichelberger Jr.
Phone: (717) 787-5490

Senator John R. Gordner
Phone: (717) 787-8928 

Senator Charles T. McIlhinney Jr.
Phone: (717) 787-7305 

Senator John Pippy
Phone: (717) 787-5839 

Senator Robert M. Tomlinson
Phone: (717) 787-5072

Senator James R. Brewster
Phone: (717) 787-5580 

Senator Richard A Kasunic
Phone: (717) 787-7175 

Senator Shirley M. Kitchen
Phone: (717) 787-6735

Senator Timothy J. Solobay
Phone: (717) 787-1463 


Back to Breaking News: 2012 Archives