Second Hearing Scheduled for Ohio Bill to Provide for Single License Plate


Second Hearing Scheduled for Ohio Bill to Provide for Single License Plate

Legislation (H.B. 159) to require that motor vehicles display only a single license plate on the rear of the vehicle will be considered at a second hearing by the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee on Tuesday, May 19, 2015.   This hearing is for supporters of the bill.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Transportation and Infrastructure   Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 159

  • H.B. 159 would save the state $1.43 million dollars and conserve resources.
  • H.B. 159 would bring Ohio in line with other states that have moved to a single plate requirement, including the bordering states of Indiana, Pennsylvania, Michigan, Kentucky and West Virginia.
  • H.B. 159 would protect the design contours of collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden and expense of having to create mounting holes on some fabricated and original bumpers.

For those interested in attending and testifying in support of H.B. 159, to follow is the hearing information.  Please let us know if you plan to testify:

What:             H.B. 159
When:             Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Time:              2:30 p.m.
Where:           Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
                        The Ohio Statehouse, Room 018, 1 Capitol Square, Columbus, Ohio 43215

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for H.B. 159.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Ohio House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Representative Terry Boose (Chair)
Phone: (614) 466-9628

Representative Doug Green (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (614) 644-6034

Representative Michael Sheehy
Phone: (614) 466-1418

Representative Niraj J. Antani
Phone: (614) 466-6504

Representative John Becker
Phone: (614) 466-8134

Representative Anthony DeVitis
Phone: (614) 466-1790

Representative Jonathan Dever
Phone: (614) 466-8120

Representative Mike Dovilla
Phone: (614) 466-4895

Representative Stephanie D. Howse
Phone: (614) 466-1414

Representative Terry Johnson
Phone: (614) 466-2124

Representative Greta Johnson
Phone: (614) 644-6037

Representative Michele Lepore-Hagan
Phone: (614) 466-9435

Representative Margaret Ann Ruhl
Phone: (614) 466-1431

Representative Martin J. Sweeney
Phone: (614) 466-3350

Representative A. Nino Vitale
Phone: (614) 466-1507