New York Reintroduces Bill to Provide for One-Time Historic Vehicle Registration Fee

Legislation has been reintroduced in the New York Senate (S.B. 1899) to provide that historical vehicle owners only pay a one-time registration fee of $100 upon initial registration.  The bill has been referred to the New York Senate Transportation Committee for consideration.  The bill was approved by the full Senate last session, but died in the Assembly when the legislature adjourned for the year.     

We Urge You to Contact Senate Transportation Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 1899

  • The reduced registration fee would be available to owners of historical vehicles owned and operated as an exhibition piece or collector’s item and used for club activities, exhibits, tours, parades, occasional transportation and similar uses.
  • Under current New York law, a historical motor vehicle is either a vehicle manufactured more than 25 years ago or one which has unique characteristics and which is determined to be of historical, classic or exhibition value.
  • The $100 one-time fee would replace the current annual fee of $28.75.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the New York Senate Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for S.B. 1899. 

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

New York Senate Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Senator Charles J. Fuschillo Jr. (Chair)
Phone: 516-882-0630

Senator Eric Adams
Phone: 518-455-2431

Senator Ruben Diaz
Phone: 518-455-2511

Senator Martin Malavé Dilan
Phone: 518-455-2177

Senator Timothy Kennedy
Phone: 518-455-2426

Senator William Larkin Jr.
Phone: 518-455-2770

Senator George Maziarz
Phone: 518-455-2024

Senator Michael Nozzolio
Phone: 518-455-2366

Senator Bill Perkins
Phone: 518-455-2441

Senator Michael Ranzenhofer
Phone: 518-455-3161

Senator Joseph Robach
Phone: 518-455-2909

Senator Malcolm Smith
Phone: 518-455-2701

Senator Daniel Squadron
Phone: 518-455-2625

Senator Toby Ann Stavisky
Phone: 518-455-3461

Senator David Valesky
Phone: 518-455-2838

Senator Catherine Young
Phone: 518-455-3563

Senator Lee Zeldin
Phone: 518-455-3570