New Hampshire Introduces Legislation to Exempt Older/Historically Significant Cars From Emissions Test Requirements


Legislation (H.B. 542) to exempt vehicles 10 or more model years old from emissions test requirements was introduced in the New Hampshire House.  Under current law, only vehicles 20 or more years old are exempt.  The bill would also exempt a vehicle for an indication of failure if the owner verifies that he or she has spent $100 or more unsuccessfully attempting to repair the cause of the failure and the vehicle passes all other inspection requirements.  Separate legislation (H.B. 351) to exempt rare or historically significant vehicles, as determined by the state, from emissions control requirements was also introduced.  Both bills will be considered by the House Transportation Committee on Tuesday, March 3, 2015. 

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the House Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 542 and H.B. 351

  • H.B. 542/H.B. 351 recognize the minimal impact of older and collectible vehicles on emissions and air quality.
  • H.B. 542/H.B. 351 acknowledge that older and collectible vehicles constitute a small portion of the overall vehicle population and are a poor source from which to look for emissions reduction. 
  • H.B. 542/H.B. 351 endorse the fact that older and collectible vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently driven. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the New Hampshire House Transportation Committee immediately to request their support for H.B. 542 and H.B. 351.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

New Hampshire House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:
Representative Steven Smith (Chair)
Phone: (603) 826-5940
Representative Thomas Walsh (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (603) 623-4104
Representative Sherman Packard
Phone: (603) 432-3391
Representative Bruce Hodgdon
Phone: (603) 942-5264
Representative Russell Dumais
Phone: (603) 293-2014
Representative George Sykes
Phone: (603) 448-0319
Representative Gladys Johnsen
Phone: (603) 358-5164
Representative Michael Abbott
Phone: (603) 336-7090
Representative Brian Chirichiello
Phone: (603) 432-0799
Representative Larry Gagne
Phone: (603) 625-9692
Representative Werner Horn
Phone: (603) 470-9667
Representative Michael O'Brien, Sr.
Phone: (603) 888-8051
Representative Dick Patten
Phone: (603) 228-1803
Representative Alan Cohen
Phone: (603) 889-0965
Representative Karel Crawford
Phone: (603) 253-7857
Representative G. Thomas Cardon
Phone: (607) 437-4847
Representative Chris True
Phone: (603) 887-2793
Representative Timothy Soucy
Phone: (603) 305-5012
Representative Pamela Brown
Phone: (603) 930-6999