Montana Bill to Provide for Single Year-of-Manufacture License Plate Approved by House; Moves to Senate

Legislation (H.B. 270) to allow the owner of a motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or pole trailer manufactured in the year 1948, 1949, or 1950 to display a single original Montana license plate that is affixed to the rear of the vehicle was approved by the full Montana House of Representatives.  Under the bill, the original Montana license plate must be legible and must bear the year that matches the year in which the vehicle was manufactured.   The bill will next be considered by the Senate Highways and Transportation Committee on Tuesday, March 5, 2013. 

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Senate Highways and Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 270

  • H.B. 270 would reinstate the single plate requirement that existed for motor vehicles in 1948 – 1950. 
  • H.B. 270 would protect the aesthetic contours of these model year collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on fabricated bumpers, etc.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Montana Senate Highways and Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for H.B. 270.  

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Montana Senate Highways and Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;;

Senator Elsie Arntzen (Chair)
Phone: (406) 534-2780
Senator Ed Buttrey (Vice Chair)
Phone: (406) 750-6798
Senator Dick Barrett
Phone: (406) 396-3256
Senator Anders Blewett
Phone: (406) 231-8618
Senator Dee Brown
Phone: (406) 387-9393
Senator Matthew Rosendale
Phone: (406) 687-3549
Senator Jon Sonju
Phone: (406) 270-7113
Senator Bruce Tutvedt
Phone: (406) 257-9732
Senator Gene Vuckovich
Phone: (406) 563-2313
Senator Dave Wanzenried
Phone: (406) 546-9442
Senator Roger Webb
Phone: (406) 861-9322
Senator Jim Keane
Phone: (406) 723-8378