Missouri Proposal to Tax Miles Traveled Dies as Legislature Adjourns

A SAN-opposed House Joint Resolution (HJR 38) to impose a vehicle miles traveled tax on state motorists died without consideration when the Missouri Legislature adjourned for the year.  Under the resolution, beginning January 1, 2015, the state would have charged and collected a "miles driven" fee in the amount of $200 for a one-year registration and $400 for a two-year registration to each owner registering or renewing the registration of a motor vehicle.  Had it been approved by the Legislature,this proposed amendment to the state constitution would have gone on a statewide ballot for a popular vote of the people.  If approved by a simple majority, this tax would have become part of the constitution.