Missouri Bill Introduced to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled


Missouri Bill Introduced to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled

Legislation (H.B. 1327) to require the Department of Revenue to charge and collect a miles driven fee of up to $200 for a one-year vehicle registration and up to $400 for a two-year vehicle registration was introduced.  This fee would be charged in addition to all other registration fees and would not replace the gas tax.

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation Committee Members (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.B. 1327

  • H.B. 1327 provides that the miles driven tax would be collected beginning January 1, 2016.
  • H.B. 1327 provides that at the time of registration, an odometer reading would be recorded.  Upon registration renewal, the owner would be entitled to an undetermined prorated credit against the miles driven fee if the vehicles is driven less than 20,000 miles during a one-year registration or 40,000 miles during a two-year registration period.  All would be required to pay a $50 paperwork processing feel.
  • In addition to creating privacy concerns, the bill seeks to penalize national efforts to create a more fuel efficient vehicle fleet by taxing drivers based on vehicle mileage.  As gas tax revenues decrease due to hybrid and electric vehicle ownership, states are looking for new sources of funding for pet projects.
  • H.B. 1327 provides that all revenue from the fee must be deposited in the State Road Fund.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Missouri House Transportation Committee immediately to request opposition to H.B. 1327

Missouri House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Glen.Kolkmeyer@house.mo.gov; Bart.Korman@house.mo.gov; Joe.Adams@house.mo.gov; Bob.Burns@house.mo.gov; Sue.Entlicher@house.mo.gov; Lincoln.Hough@house.mo.gov; Caleb.Jones@house.mo.gov; Bill.Lant@house.mo.gov; Kirk.Mathews@house.mo.gov; Karla.May@house.mo.gov; Tom.McDonald@house.mo.gov; Rebecca.Roeber@house.mo.gov; Don.Rone@house.mo.gov

Representative Glen Kolkmeyer (Chair)
Phone: 573-751-1462
Email: Glen.Kolkmeyer@house.mo.gov

Representative Bart Korman (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 573-751-2689
Email: Bart.Korman@house.mo.gov

Representative Joe Adams
Phone: 573-751-4265
Email: Joe.Adams@house.mo.gov

Representative Bob Burns
Phone: 573-751-0211
Email: Bob.Burns@house.mo.gov

Representative Sue Entlicher
Phone: 573-751-1347
Email: Sue.Entlicher@house.mo.gov

Representative Lincoln Hough
Phone: 573-751-9809
Email: Lincoln.Hough@house.mo.gov

Representative Caleb Jones
Phone: 573-751-2134
Email: Caleb.Jones@house.mo.gov

Representative Bill Lant
Phone: 573-751-9801
Email: Bill.Lant@house.mo.gov

Representative Kirk Mathews
Phone: 573-751-0562
Email: Kirk.Mathews@house.mo.gov

Representative Karla May
Phone: 573-751-2198
Email: Karla.May@house.mo.gov

Representative Tom McDonald
Phone: 573-751-9851
Email: Tom.McDonald@house.mo.gov

Representative Rebecca Roeber
Phone: 573-751-1456
Email: Rebecca.Roeber@house.mo.gov

Representative Don Rone
Phone: 573-751-4085
Email: Don.Rone@house.mo.gov