Minnesota Considers Pilot Program to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled


Minnesota Considers Pilot Program to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled

Legislation (H.F. 3149) to establish a pilot program administered by the Department of Transportation to impose a vehicle mileage user fee was introduced in Minnesota.  Under the bill, the Department must report to the legislature its design options and recommendations for a permanent program that would be implemented in the near term.

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation Policy Committee Members (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.F. 3149

  • H.F. 3149 seeks to penalize national efforts to create a more fuel efficient vehicle fleet by taxing drivers based on vehicle mileage.  As gas tax revenues decrease due to hybrid and electric vehicle ownership, states are looking for new sources of funding for pet projects.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Minnesota House Transportation Policy Committee immediately to request their opposition to H.F. 3149.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Minnesota House Transportation Policy Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

rep.ron.erhardt@house.mn; rep.sandra.masin@house.mn; rep.linda.runbeck@house.mn; rep.mark.anderson@house.mn; rep.mike.beard@house.mn; rep.zachary.dorholt@house.mn; rep.david.fitzsimmons@house.mn; rep.frank.hornstein@house.mn; rep.jim.newberger@house.mn; rep.john.petersburg@house.mn; rep.paul.rosenthal@house.mn; rep.mary.sawatzky@house.mn; rep.yvonne.selcer@house.mn; rep.erik.simonson@house.mn; rep.mike.sundin@house.mn

Representative Ron Erhardt (Chair)
Phone: 651-296-4363
Representative Sandra Masin (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 651-296-3533
Representative Linda Runbeck
Phone: 651-296-2907
Representative Mark Anderson
Phone: 651-296-4293
Representative Michael Beard
Phone: 651-296-8872
Representative Zachary Dorholt
Phone: 651-296-6612
Representative David FitzSimmons
Phone: 651-296-1534
Representative Frank Hornstein
Phone: 651-296-9281
Representative Jim Newberger
Phone: 651-296-2451
Representative John Petersburg
Phone: 651-296-5368
Representative Paul Rosenthal
Phone: 651-296-7803
Representative Mary Sawatzky
Phone: 651-296-6206
Representative Yvonne Selcer
Phone: 651-296-3964
Representative Erik Simonson
Phone: 651-296-4246
Representative Mike Sundin
Phone: 651-296-4308