Minnesota Bills Increase Fees for Fuel Efficient Vehicles/ Tax Cars for Miles Traveled


Minnesota Bills Increase Fees for Fuel Efficient Vehicles/ Tax Cars for Miles Traveled

Legislation (H.F. 324) to mandate payment of a “recoupment” surcharge of up to $95 has been introduced in Minnesota.  The surcharge would be calculated to levy the highest tax on owners of the most fuel efficient vehicles.  Separate legislation (H.B. 325) requires the Department of Transportation to take steps to implement a vehicle mileage user fee to tax drivers on actual miles driven.   

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation Policy and Finance Committee Members (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.F. 324 and H.F. 325

  • H.F. 324 relies on fuel economy estimates provided by the U.S. EPA for the appropriate year, make, model, transmission and engine configuration of the vehicle.
  • H.F. 324 and H.F. 325 seek to penalize national efforts to create a more fuel efficient vehicle fleet by taxing drivers based on fuel economy.  As gas tax revenues decrease due to hybrid and electric vehicle ownership, states are looking for new sources of funding for pet projects.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Minnesota House Transportation Policy and Finance Committee immediately to request their opposition to H.F. 324 and H.F. 325    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Minnesota House Transportation Policy and Finance Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Representative Tim Kelly (Chair)
Phone: 651-296-8635
Representative John Petersburg (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 651-296-5368
Representative Ron Erhardt
Phone: 651-296-4363
Representative Frank Hornstein
Phone: 651-296-9281
Representative Mark Anderson
Phone: 651-296-4293
Representative Joe Atkins
Phone: 651-296-4192
Representative Connie Bernardy
Phone: 651-296-5510
Representative Steve Drazkowski
Phone: 651-296-2273
Representative Alice Hausman
Phone: 651-296-3824
Representative Jeff Howe
Phone: 651-296-4373
Representative Clark Johnson
Phone: 651-296-8634
Representative Jon Koznick
Phone: 651-296-6926
Representative Eric Lucero
Phone: 651-296-1534
Representative Sandra Masin
Phone: 651-296-3533
Representative Denny McNamara
Phone: 651-296-3135
Representative Jim Nash
Phone: 651-296-4282
Representative Kim Norton
Phone: 651-296-9249
Representative Linda Runbeck
Phone: 651-296-2907
Representative Tim Sanders
Phone: 651-296-4226
Representative Mike Sundin
Phone: 651-296-4308
Representative Mark Uglem
Phone: 651-296-5513
Representative Abigail Whelan
Phone: 651-296-1729
Representative Jim Knoblach
Phone: 651-296-6612