Minnesota Bill to Ease Process for Designating Classic Cars to be Considered on March 19, 2014


Minnesota Bill to Ease Process for Designating Classic Cars to be Considered on March 19, 2014

Legislation (H.F. 3072) to provide for a program that will allow classic car status to be determined from nationally recognized standards and guides will be considered by the Minnesota House Transportation Policy Committee on Wednesday, March 19, 2014.  Under the current system, this status must be designated by the state through a time-consuming amendment to the law.  

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation Policy CommitteeMembers (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.F. 3072 

  • The classic car plate is available to “any motor vehicle manufactured between and including the years 1925 and 1948, and designated as a full classic car because of its fine design, high engineering standards, and superior workmanship, and owned and operated solely as a collector's item. . . ”
  • Classic vehicles are issued a single number plate bearing the inscription "Classic Car," "Minnesota," and the registration number or other combination of characters and is valid without renewal as long as the vehicle is in existence in Minnesota.
  • H.F. 3072 will speed up the process by which Minnesota vehicles can attain classic car status.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Minnesota House Transportation Policy Committee immediately to request their support for H.F. 3072.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Minnesota House Transportation Policy Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Representative Ron Erhardt (Chair)
Phone: 651-296-4363
Representative Sandra Masin (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 651-296-3533
Representative Linda Runbeck
Phone: 651-296-2907
Representative Mark Anderson
Phone: 651-296-4293
Representative Michael Beard
Phone: 651-296-8872
Representative Zachary Dorholt
Phone: 651-296-6612
Representative David FitzSimmons
Phone: 651-296-1534
Representative Frank Hornstein
Phone: 651-296-9281
Representative Jim Newberger
Phone: 651-296-2451
Representative John Petersburg
Phone: 651-296-5368
Representative Paul Rosenthal
Phone: 651-296-7803
Representative Mary Sawatzky
Phone: 651-296-6206
Representative Yvonne Selcer
Phone: 651-296-3964
Representative Erik Simonson
Phone: 651-296-4246
Representative Mike Sundin
Phone: 651-296-4308