Michigan Introduces Bill to Require Labeling on All Pumps Dispensing Ethanol Blended Gasoline

The Michigan House of Representatives has introduced legislation (H.B. 5469) requiring retail dealers that offer gasoline for sale to label those pumps dispensing ethanol-blended gasoline with a notice that indicates the grade of gasoline and the percentage of ethanol contained.  Under current Michigan law, gasoline that contains 10% or less ethanol is not subject to the labeling requirement. 

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Michigan House Committee on Energy and Technology (List Below) Immediately to Support H.B. 5469

•    H.B. 5469 recognizes the fact that ethanol increases water formation which can then create formic acid and corrode metals, plastics and rubber, especially over a period of time when the vehicle is not used.  This can lead to engine/parts failures and, potentially, safety hazards.  Ethanol also burns hotter and can cause some engines to stall, misfire and overheat.  Current high performance specialty parts along with the pre-2001 cars and parts may be most susceptible to corrosion and overheating. 

•    H.B. 5469 acknowledges that the life span of these vehicles and equipment can be dramatically reduced with the wrong fuel and the owners could be confronted with break downs. Anti-corrosion additives are available for each purchase of gasoline but can become expensive and burdensome on consumers. 

•    H.B. 5469 provides that a person who violates this is liable for a civil fine up to $1,000.00 for each day the violation continues.  

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Michigan House Committee on Energy and Technology to request their support for H.B. 5469.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Michigan House Committee on Energy and Technology 

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

kennethhorn@house.mi.gov; MikeShirkey@house.mi.gov; paulopsommer@house.mi.gov; HughCrawford@house.mi.gov; JosephHaveman@house.mi.gov; EileenKowall@house.mi.gov; RayFranz@house.mi.gov; BradJacobsen@house.mi.gov; EdMcBroom@house.mi.gov; AricNesbitt@house.mi.gov; RickOutman@house.mi.gov; AmandaPrice@house.mi.gov; dalewzorn@house.mi.gov; royschmidt@house.mi.gov; harveysantana@house.mi.gov; jeffirwin@house.mi.gov; charlesbrunner@house.mi.gov; thomasstallworth@house.mi.gov; philcavanagh@house.mi.gov; charlessmiley@house.mi.gov; jonswitalski@house.mi.gov

Representative Kenneth B. Horn (Chair)
Phone: (517) 373-0837
Email: kennethhorn@house.mi.gov 

Representative Mike Shirkey (Majority Vice Chair)
Phone: (517) 373-1775
Email: MikeShirkey@house.mi.gov 

Representative Paul Opsommer
Phone: (517) 373-1778
Email: paulopsommer@house.mi.gov 

Representative Hugh Crawford
Phone: (517) 373-0827
Email: HughCrawford@house.mi.gov 

Representative Joseph Haveman
Phone: (517) 373-0830
Email: JosephHaveman@house.mi.gov

Representative Eileen Kowall
Phone: (517) 373-2616
Email: EileenKowall@house.mi.gov

Representative Ray Franz
Phone: (517) 373-0825
Email: RayFranz@house.mi.gov 

Representative Brad Jacobsen
Phone: 517-373-1798
Email: BradJacobsen@house.mi.gov 

Representative Ed McBroom
Phone: (517) 373-0156
Email: EdMcBroom@house.mi.gov 

Representative Aric Nesbitt
Phone: (517) 373-0839
Email: AricNesbitt@house.mi.gov 

Representative Rick Outman
Phone: (517) 373-0834
Email: RickOutman@house.mi.gov 

Representative Amanda Price
Phone: (517) 373-0838
Email: AmandaPrice@house.mi.gov 

Representative Dale Zorn
Phone: (517) 373-2617
Email: dalewzorn@house.mi.gov 

Representative Roy Schmidt (Minority Vice Chair)
Phone: (517) 373-0822
Email: royschmidt@house.mi.gov

Representative Harvey Santana
Phone: (517) 373-6990
Email: harveysantana@house.mi.gov

Representative Jeff Irwin
Phone: (517) 373-2577
Email: jeffirwin@house.mi.gov

Representative Charles Brunner
Phone: (517) 373-0158
Email: charlesbrunner@house.mi.gov

Representative Thomas Stallworth
Phone: (517) 373-2276
Email: thomasstallworth@house.mi.gov

Representative Phil Cavanagh
Phone: (517) 373-0857
Email: philcavanagh@house.mi.gov

Representative Charles Smiley
Phone: (517) 373-3906
Email: charlessmiley@house.mi.gov

Representative Jon M. Switalski
Phone: (517) 373-1772
Email: jonswitalski@house.mi.gov


Back to Breaking News: 2012 Archives