Michigan Introduces Bill to Permit Historic Vehicles Free Access to State Parks


Legislation (H.B. 4969) has been introduced that would allow vehicles that display a Michigan historic vehicle plate or tab or an authentic Michigan registration plate free access to state parks hosting a car show, classic car cruise or other similar event.  Generally, a Recreation Passport is available to Michigan registered vehicles for $11 and is valid for the duration of the calendar year.  

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Members (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.B. 4736

  • H.B. 4969 will provide Michigan historic vehicle owners the opportunity to enjoy car events scheduled at state parks free of charge.
  • H.B. 4969 provides added incentive to owners of qualifying historic vehicles (more than 25-years old) to register as “historic.”

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Michigan House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 4969.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Michigan House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

PeterPettalia@house.mi.gov; BenGlardon@house.mi.gov; JeffFarrington@house.mi.gov; KenGoike@house.mi.gov; BradJacobsen@house.mi.gov; KenYonker@house.mi.gov; DanLauwers@house.mi.gov; MikeMcCready@house.mi.gov; TristonCole@house.mi.gov; DavidMaturen@house.mi.gov; marilynlane@house.mi.gov; davidrutledge@house.mi.gov; charlessmiley@house.mi.gov; tomcochran@house.mi.gov; scottdianda@house.mi.gov; SheldonNeeley@house.mi.gov

Representative Peter Pettalia (Chair)
Phone: 517-373-0833
Email: PeterPettalia@house.mi.gov

Representative Ben Glardon (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 517-373-0841
Email: BenGlardon@house.mi.gov

Representative Jeff Farrington
Phone: 517-373-7768
Email: JeffFarrington@house.mi.gov

Representative Ken Goike
Phone: 517-373-0820
Email: KenGoike@house.mi.gov

Representative Bradford Jacobsen
Phone: 517-373-1798
Email: BradJacobsen@house.mi.gov

Representative Ken Yonker
Phone: 517-373-0840
Email: KenYonker@house.mi.gov

Representative Dan Lauwers
Phone: 517-373-1790
Email: DanLauwers@house.mi.gov

Representative Michael McCready
Phone: 517-373-8670
Email: MikeMcCready@house.mi.gov

Representative Triston Cole
Phone: 517-373-0829
Email: TristonCole@house.mi.gov

Representative David Maturen
Phone: 517-373-1787
Email: DavidMaturen@house.mi.gov

Representative Marilyn Lane
Phone: 517-373-0159
Email: marilynlane@house.mi.gov

Representative David Rutledge
Phone: 517-373-1771
Email: davidrutledge@house.mi.gov

Representative Charles Smiley
Phone: 517-373-3906
Email: charlessmiley@house.mi.gov

Representative Tom Cochran
Phone: 517-373-0587
Email: tomcochran@house.mi.gov

Representative Scott Dianda
Phone: 517-373-0850
Email: scottdianda@house.mi.gov

Representative Sheldon Neeley
Phone: 517-373-8808
Email: SheldonNeeley@house.mi.gov