Michigan Considers Implementing Road User Fee


Legislation (H.B. 4762) to require the state to charge and collect a user fee from each registrant of a motor vehiclehas been introduced in the Michigan House.  The fee would come in addition to the vehicle registration tax.  The user fee would be $50.00 for each 10,000 miles driven by the registrant during the 1-year period immediately preceding a registration renewal. 

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Members (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.B. 4762

  • H.B. 4762 would require that a vehicle registrant appear in person at an office of the secretary of state at the time of vehicle registration renewal to allow the state to verify the current mileage of the vehicle, calculate and collect the user fee.
  • H.B. 4762 would require the secretary of state to maintain a database of all vehicle mileage information collected, potentially creating privacy concerns.
  • H.B. 4762 would impose its harshest penalties on owners who rely on their vehicles to drive long distances to and from places of employment.
  • H.B. 4762 penalizes national efforts to create a more fuel efficient vehicle fleet.  As gas tax revenues decrease due to hybrid and electric vehicle ownership, states are looking for new sources of funding for pet projects

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Michigan House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 4762.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Michigan House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

PeterPettalia@house.mi.gov; BenGlardon@house.mi.gov; JeffFarrington@house.mi.gov; KenGoike@house.mi.gov; BradJacobsen@house.mi.gov; KenYonker@house.mi.gov; DanLauwers@house.mi.gov; MikeMcCready@house.mi.gov; TristonCole@house.mi.gov; DavidMaturen@house.mi.gov; marilynlane@house.mi.gov; davidrutledge@house.mi.gov; charlessmiley@house.mi.gov; tomcochran@house.mi.gov; scottdianda@house.mi.gov; SheldonNeeley@house.mi.gov

Representative Peter Pettalia (Chair)
Phone: 517-373-0833
Email: PeterPettalia@house.mi.gov

Representative Ben Glardon (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 517-373-0841
Email: BenGlardon@house.mi.gov

Representative Jeff Farrington
Phone: 517-373-7768
Email: JeffFarrington@house.mi.gov

Representative Ken Goike
Phone: 517-373-0820
Email: KenGoike@house.mi.gov

Representative Bradford Jacobsen
Phone: 517-373-1798
Email: BradJacobsen@house.mi.gov

Representative Ken Yonker
Phone: 517-373-0840
Email: KenYonker@house.mi.gov

Representative Dan Lauwers
Phone: 517-373-1790
Email: DanLauwers@house.mi.gov

Representative Michael McCready
Phone: 517-373-8670
Email: MikeMcCready@house.mi.gov

Representative Triston Cole
Phone: 517-373-0829
Email: TristonCole@house.mi.gov

Representative David Maturen
Phone: 517-373-1787
Email: DavidMaturen@house.mi.gov

Representative Marilyn Lane
Phone: 517-373-0159
Email: marilynlane@house.mi.gov

Representative David Rutledge
Phone: 517-373-1771
Email: davidrutledge@house.mi.gov

Representative Charles Smiley
Phone: 517-373-3906
Email: charlessmiley@house.mi.gov

Representative Tom Cochran
Phone: 517-373-0587
Email: tomcochran@house.mi.gov

Representative Scott Dianda
Phone: 517-373-0850
Email: scottdianda@house.mi.gov

Representative Sheldon Neeley
Phone: 517-373-8808
Email: SheldonNeeley@house.mi.gov