Michigan Bill Would Increase Fees for Historic Vehicles

Legislation (H.B. 5897) introduced in the Michigan legislature threatens to change the $30 registration fee for historic motor vehicles (renewable every ten years) to an annual fee.   Under current Michigan law, the owner of an historic vehicle may also choose to use restored authentic Michigan plates from the same year as the vehicle’s model year for a one-time fee of $35.  H.B. 5897 would increase that one-time fee as well, to an annual registration fee of $30.  Under the bill, each of the registrations would come up for renewal every year on the vehicle owner’s birthday.  
We Urge You to Contact Members of the Michigan House Transportation Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 5897.

  • Currently, the owner of an historic vehicle applying for an historic registration pays a $30 fee which is valid for ten (10) years.
  • Currently, the owner of an historic vehicle applying to use an authentic restored Michigan registration plate pays a “one-time” $35 fee which is valid until the owner sells, transfers, or scraps the vehicle or modifies the vehicle in a manner that requires the issuance of a new title.
  • H.B. 5897 ignores the fact that these older cars are infrequently driven (about one-third the miles each year as a new vehicle) second or third vehicles and deserving of reduced registration fees.
  • H.B. 5897 ignores the fact that many historic vehicles are owned and maintained by low and fixed income Americans who are less able to afford a higher, annual fee.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Michigan House Transportation Committee immediately by e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 5897.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Thank you for your assistance.

Michigan House Transportation Committee

Representative Pam Byrnes - Chair
Phone: 517/373-0828
Email: pambyrnes@house.mi.gov

Representative Andrew Kandrevas - Majority Vice Chair
Phone: 517/373-0845
Email: AndrewKandrevas@house.mi.gov
Representative Paul Opsommer - Minority Vice Chair
Phone: 517/373-1778
Email: paulopsommer@house.mi.gov

Representative Marie Donigan
Phone: 517/373-3818
Email: mariedonigan@house.mi.gov

Representative Douglas Geiss
Phone: 517/373-0852
Email: DouglasGeiss@house.mi.gov
Representative Martin Griffin
Phone: 517/373-1795
Email: martingriffin@house.mi.gov

Representative Harold Haugh
Phone: 517/373-0854
Email: HaroldHaugh@house.mi.gov
Representative Gabe Leland
Phone: 517/373-6990
Email: gabeleland@house.mi.gov

Representative Judy Nerat
Phone: 517/373-0156
Email: JudyNerat@house.mi.gov
Representative Roy Schmidt
Phone: 517/373-0822
Email: RoySchmidt@house.mi.gov
Representative Coleman Young II
Phone: 517/373-1008
Email: colemanayoungii@house.mi.gov

Representative James Bolger
Phone: 517/373-1787
Email: JamesBolger@house.mi.gov
Representative Larry DeShazor
Phone: 517/373-1774
Email: LarryDeShazor@house.mi.gov
Representative Marty Knollenberg
Phone: 517/373-1783
Email: martyknollenberg@house.mi.gov

Representative Tom Pearce
Phone: 517/373-0218
Email: tompearce@house.mi.gov

Representative Wayne Schmidt
Phone: 517/373-1766
Email: WayneSchmidt@house.mi.gov
Representative Paul Scott
Phone: 517/373-1780
Email: PaulScott@house.mi.gov