Michigan Bill Increases First Registration Fees by $100


Legislation (H.B. 4736) to increase the initial registration and transfer registration tax by $100 was introduced in the Michigan House.  Under the bill, the increase would apply only to the first registration that is not a transfer registration and for the first registration after a transfer registration. 

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Members (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.B. 4736

  • Under H.B. 4736, the $100 tax increase would apply according to the vehicle’s list price, with more costly vehicles being taxed at a higher rate.
  • H.B. 4736 makes no special exception for hobby cars such as kits, classics, old timers, reconstructed, replica, specially constructed and street rods that constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet, are infrequently operated on public roadways and deserving of lower registration taxes.
  • The tax collected under H.B. 4736 would be used to fund state road projects.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Michigan House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 4736.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Michigan House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

PeterPettalia@house.mi.gov; BenGlardon@house.mi.gov; JeffFarrington@house.mi.gov; KenGoike@house.mi.gov; BradJacobsen@house.mi.gov; KenYonker@house.mi.gov; DanLauwers@house.mi.gov; MikeMcCready@house.mi.gov; TristonCole@house.mi.gov; DavidMaturen@house.mi.gov; marilynlane@house.mi.gov; davidrutledge@house.mi.gov; charlessmiley@house.mi.gov; tomcochran@house.mi.gov; scottdianda@house.mi.gov; SheldonNeeley@house.mi.gov

Representative Peter Pettalia (Chair)
Phone: 517-373-0833
Email: PeterPettalia@house.mi.gov

Representative Ben Glardon (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 517-373-0841
Email: BenGlardon@house.mi.gov

Representative Jeff Farrington
Phone: 517-373-7768
Email: JeffFarrington@house.mi.gov

Representative Ken Goike
Phone: 517-373-0820
Email: KenGoike@house.mi.gov

Representative Bradford Jacobsen
Phone: 517-373-1798
Email: BradJacobsen@house.mi.gov

Representative Ken Yonker
Phone: 517-373-0840
Email: KenYonker@house.mi.gov

Representative Dan Lauwers
Phone: 517-373-1790
Email: DanLauwers@house.mi.gov

Representative Michael McCready
Phone: 517-373-8670
Email: MikeMcCready@house.mi.gov

Representative Triston Cole
Phone: 517-373-0829
Email: TristonCole@house.mi.gov

Representative David Maturen
Phone: 517-373-1787
Email: DavidMaturen@house.mi.gov

Representative Marilyn Lane
Phone: 517-373-0159
Email: marilynlane@house.mi.gov

Representative David Rutledge
Phone: 517-373-1771
Email: davidrutledge@house.mi.gov

Representative Charles Smiley
Phone: 517-373-3906
Email: charlessmiley@house.mi.gov

Representative Tom Cochran
Phone: 517-373-0587
Email: tomcochran@house.mi.gov

Representative Scott Dianda
Phone: 517-373-0850
Email: scottdianda@house.mi.gov

Representative Sheldon Neeley
Phone: 517-373-8808
Email: SheldonNeeley@house.mi.gov