Massachusetts Considers Pilot Program to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled

Legislation (H.B. 3142) to establish a pilot program to impose a vehicle mileage user fee administered by the Department of Transportation was introduced in Massachusetts. This bill is intended to supplement the gas tax and implement alternative ways to raise transportation revenue for the state.  Under the bill, the Department must report to the legislature on the feasibility of permanently assessing a vehicle mileage user fee.  The pilot program would include at least 1,000 drivers of trucks, passenger and commercial vehicles.  These drivers would have on-board vehicle-mileage-counting equipment installed on their vehicles which can report the number of miles traveled.  Payments would be collected from participants.

We Urge You to Contact the Joint Transportation CommitteeMembers (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.B. 3142

  • H.B. 3142 seeks to penalize national efforts to create a more fuel efficient vehicle fleet.  As gas tax revenues decrease due to hybrid and electric vehicle ownership, states are looking for new sources of funding for pet projects.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Massachusetts Joint Transportation Committee immediately to request their opposition to H.B. 3142.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Massachusetts Joint Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Senator Thomas McGee (Senate Chair)
Phone: 617-722-1350
Representative Williams Straus (House Chair)
Phone: 617-722-2400
Senator Thomas Kennedy (Senate Vice-Chair)
Phone: 617-722-1200
Representative John Mahoney (House Vice-Chair)
Phone: 617-722-2400
Senator Gale Candaras
Phone: 617-722-1291
Senator Marc Pacheco
Phone: 617-722-1551
Senator Robert Hedlund
Phone: 617-722-1646
Senator Michael Moore
Phone: 617-722-1485
Senator Michael Rush
Phone: 617-722-1348
Representative John Fernandes
Phone: 617-722-2220
Representative Timothy Madden
Phone: 617-722-2810
Representative Mark Cusack
Phone: 617-722-2637
Representative Christopher Markey
Phone: 617-722-2396
Representative Chris Walsh
Phone: 617-722-2013
Representative Peter Durant
Phone: 617-722-2060
Representative Danielle Gregoire
Phone: 617-722-2460
Representative Gailanne Cariddi
Phone: 617-722-2450
Representative Michael Finn
Phone: 617-722-2637
Representative Jerald Parisella
Phone: 617-722-2877
Representative Steven Howitt
Phone: 617-722-2305