Maryland Bills to Provide for Single License Plate to be Considered on Feb. 4, 2014


Maryland Bills to Provide for Single License Plate to be Considered on Feb. 4, 2014   

Legislation (H.B. 327) has been reintroduced in the Maryland House of Delegates to require the issuance of only a single license plate for motor vehicles.  A second bill (H.B. 320) provides that historic vehicles and street rods may display only the rear plate if the front plate is stored inside the vehicle.  H.B. 320 is similar to a bill (H.B. 77) that was considered earlier this year.  Both bills will be considered by the House Environmental Matters Committee on Tuesday, February 4, 2014. 

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Environmental Matters Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 327 and H.B. 320 

  • H.B. 327 would save money, conserve resources and bring Maryland in line with other states that have moved to a single plate requirement.
  • H.B. 320 would protect the aesthetic contours of collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on some original bumpers.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for H.B. 327 and H.B. 320.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;


Delegate Maggie McIntosh (Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3990
Delegate James E. Malone Jr. (Vice Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3378
Delegate Pamela Beidle
Phone: 410-841-3370
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo
Phone: 410-841-3205
Delegate Rudolph Cane
Phone: 410-841-3427
Delegate Alfred Carr Jr.
Phone: 301-858-3638
Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo
Phone: 301-858-3186
Delegate Barbara Frush
Phone: 410-841-3114
Delegate Jim Gilchrist
Phone: 301-858-3744
Delegate Anne Healey
Phone: 301-858-3961
Delegate Patrick Hogan
Phone: 301-858-3240
Delegate Marvin Holmes Jr.
Phone: 301-858-3310
Delegate Jay Jacobs
Phone: 410-841-3449
Delegate Stephen Lafferty
Phone: 410-841-3487
Delegate Herb McMillan
Phone: 410-841-3211
Delegate Doyle Niemann
Phone: 301-858-3326
Delegate H. Wayne Norman Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3284
Delegate Anthony O’Donnell
Phone: 410-841-3314
Delegate Charles Otto
Phone: 301-858-3433
Delegate Shane Robinson
Phone: 301-858-3021
Delegate Dana Stein
Phone: 410-841-3527
Delegate Cathy Vitale
Phone: 410-841-3510
Delegate Michael Weir Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3328
Delegate C.T. Wilson
Phone: 410-841-3325