Louisiana Legislature Adjourns

The Louisiana legislature failed to pass SAN-supported legislation (H.B. 641) to exempt the sale of antique vehicles from the state and local sales tax. This bill requires vehicles that are at least 25 years old and registered as “antique” not be used for commercial purposes and must have a value of at least $10,000. Currently, no exemption from the state and local sales tax exists for antique vehicles. The bill passed the House Committee on Ways and Means, but the full House failed to advance the bill prior to the adjournment of the session.

Thank you to everyone who voiced support for this effort.