Louisiana Bill to Recognize COLLECTOR CAR APPRECIATION WEEKEND Approved by House; Moves to Senate


Louisiana Bill to Recognize “COLLECTOR CAR APPRECIATION WEEKEND” Approved by House; Moves to Senate

Legislation (H.B. 480) to annually designate the Friday, Saturday, and Sunday of the second weekend in July as "Louisiana Collector Car Appreciation" weekend was approved by the Louisiana House of Representatives.  The bill now moves to the Senate Judiciary B Committee for consideration.  Earlier this year, the SEMA Action Network (SAN) announced these dates to mark the fifth commemoration in what has become an annual event to raise awareness of the vital role automotive restoration and collection plays in American society.  SAN is again working to secure a U.S. Congressional resolution to recognize the day’s significance.

In the previous four years, thousands of Americans have gathered at car cruises, parades and other events to celebrate our nation’s automotive heritage.  By taking part in these events around the country, these automotive enthusiasts and related businesses have ensured that their passion was honored and recognized.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Louisiana Senate Judiciary B Committee(Contact Info Below) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 480

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Louisiana Senate Judiciary B Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

morrelljp@legis.la.gov; johnsr@legis.la.gov; chabertn@legis.la.gov; lafleure@legis.la.gov; petersonk@legis.la.gov; smithgl@legis.la.gov; tarverg@legis.la.gov

Senator Jean-Paul J. Morrell (Chair)  
Phone: (504) 284-4794
Email: morrelljp@legis.la.gov

Senator Ronnie Johns (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (337) 491-2016
Email: johnsr@legis.la.gov

Senator Norby Chabert
Phone: (985) 858-2927
Email: chabertn@legis.la.gov

Senator Eric LaFleur  
Phone: (337) 363-5019
Email: lafleure@legis.la.gov

Senator Karen Carter Peterson          
Phone: (504) 568-8346
Email: petersonk@legis.la.gov

Senator Gary Smith
Phone: (985) 764-9122
Email: smithgl@legis.la.gov

Senator Gregory Tarver
Phone: (318) 227-1499
Email: tarverg@legis.la.gov