Kansas Anti-Hobbyist Inoperable Vehicle Bill to be Considered by Committee on January 21, 2014

Legislation (H.B. 2247) to provide counties with the authority to remove from private property motor vehicles deemed to be a “nuisance” has been introduced in the Kansas House of Representatives.  Only cities are currently allowed that authority.  The bill will be considered by the House Local Government Committee on January 21, 2014.   

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Local Government Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 2247

  • In Kansas, maintaining a public nuisance means “intentionally causing or permitting a condition to exist which injures or endangers the public health, safety or welfare.”  This definition provides no real guidance for motor vehicle owners maintaining inoperable vehicles on private property.
  • H.B. 2247 provides no reasonable concessions for legitimate automotive hobbyists that choose to work on inoperable collector vehicles on private property.
  • H.B. 2247 could allow counties to outlaw the repair or modification of certain motor vehicles that are undergoing restoration.
  • H.B. 2247 establishes no provisions that would enable vehicles located out of public view to avoid being classified as nuisances.     

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Kansas House Local Government Committee immediately to request their opposition to H.B. 2247. 

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Kansas House Local Government Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

steve.huebert@house.ks.gov; tom.phillips@house.ks.gov; john.alcala@house.ks.gov; john.barker@house.ks.gov; stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov; erin.davis@house.ks.gov; keith.esau@house.ks.gov; broderick.henderson@house.ks.gov; mike.kiegerl@house.ks.gov; connie.obrien@house.ks.gov; michael.peterson@house.ks.gov; scott.schwab@house.ks.gov; sharon.schwartz@house.ks.gov

Representative Steve Huebert (Chair)
Phone: 785 296-1754
Representative Tom Phillips (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 785 296-6014
Representative John Alcala
Phone: 785 296-7371
Representative John Barker
Phone: 785 296-7674
Representative Stephanie Clayton
Phone: 785 296-7655
Representative Erin Davis
Phone: 785-296-6824
Representative Keith Esau
Phone: 785 296-7631
Representative Broderick Henderson
Phone: 785 296-7697
Representative Mike Kiegerl
Phone: 785-296-7636
Representative Connie O'Brien
Phone: 785 296-7683
Representative Mike Peterson
Phone: 785 296-7371
Representative Scott Schwab
Phone: 785 296-7501
Representative Sharon Schwartz
Phone: 785 296-7637