Hawaii Bill to Eliminate Ethanol in Gasoline Favorably Amended by Conference Committee


Legislation (S.B. 717) to repeal the requirement that gasoline offered for sale in the state contain a percentage of ethanol was approved by a conference committee comprised of members from the House and Senate.  The conference committee’s bill creates an effective date of December 31, 2015.  The bill will now be returned to both chambers for a final vote.

We Urge You to Contact Members of theHouse and Senate (List Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 717

  • S.B. 717 protects the thousands of older cars that are currently feeling the effects of ethanol-blended gasoline.  The December 31, 2015 effective date protects today’s cars now.
  • The requirement of blending ethanol into Hawaii’s gasoline does not produce any economic benefit for the state and the import of ethanol creates an economic burden for state residents.
  • Ethanol increases water formation which can then create formic acid and corrode metals, plastics and rubber, especially over a period of time when the vehicle is not used.  Current high performance specialty parts along with pre-model year 2001 cars and parts may be most susceptible to corrosion.
  • The life span of vehicles and equipment can be dramatically reduced with the wrong fuel and that owners could be confronted with break downs. Anti-corrosion additives are available for each purchase of gasoline but can become expensive, burdensome and require consumer education

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the House and Senate to request support for S.B. 717.  

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Hawaii State House of Representatives

To e-mail all Representatives, copy and paste the email address below:

repaquino@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repbelatti@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repbrower@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repcachola@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repchoy@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repcreagan@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repcullen@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repdecoite@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repevans@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repfukumoto@Capitol.hawaii.gov; rephar@Capitol.hawaii.gov; rephashem@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repichiyama@Capitol.hawaii.gov; reping@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repito@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repjohanson@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repjordan@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repkawakami@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repkeohokalole@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repkobayashi@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repkong@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repclee@Capitol.hawaii.gov; replopresti@Capitol.hawaii.gov; replowen@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repluke@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repmatsumoto@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repmcdermott@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repmckelvey@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repmizuno@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repmorikawa@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repnakashima@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repnishimoto@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repohno@Capitol.hawaii.gov; reponishi@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repmoshiro@Capitol.hawaii.gov; reppouha@Capitol.hawaii.gov; reprhoads@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repsaiki@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repsanbuenaventura@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repsay@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repsouki@Capitol.hawaii.gov; reptakayama@Capitol.hawaii.gov; reptakumi@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repthielen@Capitol.hawaii.gov; reptokioka@Capitol.hawaii.gov; reptsuji@Capitol.hawaii.gov; reptupola@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repward@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repwoodson@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repyamane@Capitol.hawaii.gov; repyamashita@Capitol.hawaii.gov

Hawaii State Senate

To e-mail all Senators, copy and paste the email address block below:

senbaker@Capitol.hawaii.gov; senchunoakland@capitol.hawaii.gov; sendelacruz@capitol.hawaii.gov; senenglish@capitol.hawaii.gov; senespero@capitol.hawaii.gov; sengabbard@capitol.hawaii.gov; sengaluteria@capitol.hawaii.gov; sengreen@capitol.hawaii.gov; senharimoto@capitol.hawaii.gov; senihara@capitol.hawaii.gov; seninouye@capitol.hawaii.gov; senkahele@capitol.hawaii.gov; senkeithagaran@capitol.hawaii.gov; senkidani@capitol.hawaii.gov; senkim@Capitol.hawaii.gov; senkouchi@Capitol.hawaii.gov; sennishihara@capitol.hawaii.gov; senriviere@capitol.hawaii.gov; senruderman@capitol.hawaii.gov; senshimabukuro@capitol.hawaii.gov; senslom@capitol.hawaii.gov; sentaniguchi@capitol.hawaii.gov; senthielen@capitol.hawaii.gov; sentokuda@capitol.hawaii.gov; senwakai@capitol.hawaii.gov