Senate Version of Florida Bill to Eliminate Ethanol Requirement in Gasoline to be Considered on April 1

The Senate version of legislation (S.B. 320) to repeal the requirement that all gasoline offered for sale in the state contain a percentage of ethanol will be considered by the Senate Communications, Energy, and Public Utilities Committee on Monday, April 1, 2013.  The Regulatory Affairs Committee recently approved the House version of the bill (H.B. 4001), which has been sent to the floor of the Florida House of Representatives for a vote by all members.  Currently, the Florida Renewable Fuels Standard requires that all gasoline sold or offered for sale by a terminal supplier, importer, blender or wholesaler in Florida contain 9-10 percent ethanol, or other alternative fuel, by volume.

Please Contact All Members of the Senate Communications, Energy, and Public Utilities Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 320

  • S.B. 320 recognizes that ethanol increases water formation which can then corrode metals, plastics and rubber, especially over a period of time when the vehicle is not used.  Current high performance specialty parts along with pre-model year 2001 cars and parts may be most susceptible to corrosion.
  • S.B. 320 recognizes that the life span of vehicles and equipment can be dramatically reduced with the wrong fuel and that owners could be confronted with break downs. Anti-corrosion additives are available for each purchase of gasoline but can become expensive, burdensome and require consumer education.
  • S.B. 320 recognizes that while the current ethanol mandate does not apply to fuel used in collector vehicles, off-road vehicles, motorcycles or small engines, there has been an inability to obtain unblended gasoline for engines that may be damaged by ethanol.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the Senate Communications, Energy, and Public Utilities Committee to request support for S.B. 320.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Florida Senate Communications, Energy, and Public Utilities Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;

Senator Anitere Flores (Chair)
Phone: (850) 487-5037

Senator Rene Garcia (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (850) 487-5038

Senator Joseph Abruzzo
Phone: (850) 487-5025

Senator Aaron Bean
Phone: (850) 487-5004

Senator Greg Evers
Phone: (850) 487-5002

Senator Audrey Gibson
Phone: (850) 487-5009

Senator Dorothy Hukill
Phone: (850) 487-5008

Senator Wilton Simpson
Phone: (850) 487-5018

Senator Christopher Smith
Phone: (850) 487-5031