Florida Proposes Elimination of Ethanol Requirement in Gasoline

Legislation (H.B. 4001) to repeal the requirement that all gasoline offered for sale in the state contain a percentage of ethanol is being considered in the Florida House.  Currently, the Florida Renewable Fuels Standard requires that all gasoline sold or offered for sale by a terminal supplier, importer, blender or wholesaler in Florida contain 9-10 percent ethanol, or other alternative fuel, by volume.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Florida House Regulatory Affairs Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 4001

  • H.B. 4001 recognizes that ethanol increases water formation which can then create formic acid and corrode metals, plastics and rubber, especially over a period of time when the vehicle is not used.  Current high performance specialty parts along with pre-model year 2001 cars and parts may be most susceptible to corrosion.
  • H.B. 4001 recognizes that the life span of vehicles and equipment can be dramatically reduced with the wrong fuel and that owners could be confronted with break downs. Anti-corrosion additives are available for each purchase of gasoline but can become expensive, burdensome and require consumer education.
  • H.B. 4001 recognizes that while the current ethanol mandate does not apply to fuel used in collector vehicles, off-road vehicles, motorcycles or small engines, there has been an inability to obtain unblended gasoline for engines that may be damaged by ethanol.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact the Florida House Regulatory Affairs Committee members to request support for H.B. 4001.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Florida House Regulatory Affairs Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

doug.holder@myfloridahouse.gov; pat.rooney@myfloridahouse.gov; jim.waldman@myfloridahouse.gov; Halsey.Beshears@myfloridahouse.gov; Neil.Combee@myfloridahouse.gov; Jose.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov; clay.ford@myfloridahouse.gov; erik.fresen@myfloridahouse.gov; Larry.Lee@myfloridahouse.gov; debbie.mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov; bryan.nelson@myfloridahouse.gov; Daniel.Raulerson@myfloridahouse.gov; darryl.rouson@myfloridahouse.gov; Richard.Stark@myfloridahouse.gov; greg.Steube@myfloridahouse.gov; Linda.Stewart@myfloridahouse.gov; Barbara.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov; alan.williams@myfloridahouse.gov

Representative Doug Holder (Chair)
Phone: (850) 717-5074
Representative Patrick Rooney Jr. (Vice Chair)
Phone: (850) 717-5085
Representative Jim Waldman
Phone: (850) 717-5096
Representative Halsey Beshears
Phone: (850) 717-5007
Representative Neil Combee
Phone: (850) 717-5039
Representative Jose Felix Diaz
Phone: (850) 717-5116
Representative Clay Ford
Phone: (850) 717-5002
Representative Erik Fresen
Phone: (850) 717-5114
Representative Larry Lee Jr.
Phone: (850) 717-5084
Representative Debbie Mayfield
Phone: (850) 717-5054
Representative Bryan Nelson
Phone: (850) 717-5031
Representative Dan Raulerson
Phone: (850) 717-5058
Representative Darryl Ervin Rouson
Phone: (850) 717-5070
Representative Richard Stark
Phone: (850) 717-5104
Representative Greg Steube
Phone: (850) 717-5073
Representative Linda Stewart
Phone: (850) 717-5047
Representative Barbara Watson
Phone: (850) 717-5107
Representative Alan Williams
Phone: (850) 717-5008
Email: alan.williams@myfloridahouse.gov