Florida Bill to Reduce Registration Fees for Motor Vehicles Approved by Senate; Moves to Appropriations Committee for April 26 Hearing

Legislation (S.B. 1832) to reduce the annual vehicle registration fees charged for automobiles and light trucks was approved by the Florida Senate on a 39-0 vote.  If enacted into law, the reduction in fees would result in a $12 annual decrease in the amount paid to register a motor vehicle.  The reduction would be implemented by eliminating a tax credit for Florida insurance companies.   The bill will now be considered by the House Appropriations Committee on Friday, April 26, 2013.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Florida House Appropriations Committee (List Attached) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 1832

  • Annual vehicle registration fees were raised in 2009 during the worst of Florida’s economic downturn. 
  • S.B. 1832 would result in a $12 annual decrease in the amount paid to register a motor vehicle. 
  • S.B. 1832 is expected to save Florida taxpayers up to $220 million per year.
  • S.B. 1832 would reduce registration fees effective September 1, 2013. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Florida House Appropriations Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for S.B. 1832.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Florida House Appropriations Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

seth.mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov; Steve.Crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov; Joe.Gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov; Ben.Albritton@myfloridahouse.gov; Dennis.Baxley@myfloridahouse.gov; Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov; Richard.Corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov; Janet.Cruz@myfloridahouse.gov; Erik.Fresen@myfloridahouse.gov; Reggie.Fullwood@myfloridahouse.gov; Eddy.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov; Ed.Hooper@myfloridahouse.gov; Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov; Clay.Ingram@myfloridahouse.gov; Mia.Jones@myfloridahouse.gov; Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov; Marlene.OToole@myfloridahouse.gov; Mark.Pafford@myfloridahouse.gov; Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov; Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov; Hazelle.Rogers@myfloridahouse.gov; Darryl.Rouson@myfloridahouse.gov; cynthia.stafford@myfloridahouse.gov; Greg.Steube@myfloridahouse.gov; perry.thurston@myfloridahouse.gov; Alan.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov

Representative Seth McKeel (Chair)
Phone: (850) 717-5040
Representative Steve Crisafulli (Vice Chair)
Phone: (850) 717-5051
Representative Joe Gibbons
Phone: (850) 717-5100
Representative Ben Albritton
Phone: (850) 717-5056
Representative Dennis Baxley
Phone: (850) 717-5023
Representative Marti Coley
Phone: (850) 717-5005
Representative Richard Corcoran
Phone: (850) 717-5037
Representative Janet Cruz
Phone: (850) 717-5062
Representative Erik Fresen
Phone: (850) 717-5114
Representative Reggie Fullwood
Phone: (850) 717-5013
Representative Eddy Gonzalez
Phone: (850) 717-5111
Representative Ed Hooper
Phone: (850) 717-5067
Representative Matt Hudson
Phone: (850) 717-5080
Representative Clay Ingram
Phone: (850) 717-5001
Representative Mia Jones
Phone: (850) 717-5014
Representative Charles McBurney
Phone: (850) 717-5016
Representative Marlene O'Toole
Phone: (850) 717-5033
Representative Mark Pafford
Phone: (850) 717-5086
Representative Jimmy Patronis
Phone: (850) 717-5006
Representative Steve Precourt
Phone: (850) 717-5044
Representative Hazel Rogers
Phone: (850) 717-5095
Representative Darryl Rouson
Phone: (850) 717-5070
Representative Cynthia Stafford
Phone: (850) 717-5109
Representative Greg Steube
Phone: (850) 717-5073
Representative Perry Thurston, Jr.,
Phone: (850) 717-5094
Representative Alan Williams
Phone: (850) 717-5008