Colorado Bill to Extend Emissions Inspection Waiver to be Considered on Thurs., Feb. 14

Legislation (S.B. 61) to extend the emissions inspection exemption to vehicles that have not yet reached their 10th model year will be considered by the Senate Transportation Committee on Thursday, February 14, 2013.  Current law only exempts vehicles that are 4 model years old or newer.  The bill would also exempt previously registered motor vehicles that have never failed an emissions control inspection and create a senior citizen hardship exemption whereby a senior citizen may register one motor vehicle without obtaining an emissions inspection.

If You Have Not Done So Already, We Urge You to Contact Senate Transportation Committee Members (Contact Information Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 61

  • S.B. 61 acknowledges the relatively minimal environmental impact of the vehicles targeted for this exemption.
  • S.B. 61 acknowledges that it is senseless to test newer vehicles, the results of which demonstrate no significant air quality benefits.   The idea behind exempting any class of vehicles is to reduce costs while not losing appreciable emission reductions.  This strategy builds support for emission inspection programs, but also directs finite resources to where they will be most valuable in cleaning the air.   
  • Colorado already exempts pre-1976 collector cars, kits and street rods from emissions testing.  The logic for this trend is clear; such vehicles do not contribute in significant ways to air quality problems.  This logic applies equally to newer cars and those rarely-used vehicles driven by some senior citizens.   

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Colorado Senate Transportation Committee immediately to request their support for S.B. 61.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.  

Colorado Senate Transportation Committee

To e-mail all members of the Colorado Senate Transportation Committee, copy and paste the email address block below:
Senator Rollie Heath (Chair)
Phone: 303-866-4872
Senator Nancy Todd (Vice Chair)
Phone: 303-866-3432
Senator Randy Baumgardner
Phone: 303-866-5292
Senator Matt Jones
Phone: 303-866-5291
Senator Steve King
Phone: 303-866-3077