Colorado Bill to Extend Emissions Inspection Waiver Approved by Senate; Moves to House

Legislation (S.B. 257) to extend the new car emissions inspection exemption from 4 to 7 model years was approved by the Colorado Senate and now moves to the House State, Veterans, & Military Affairs Committee for consideration.  A Senate amendment moves the implementation date from 2014 to 2016, but keeps the extension in place.  Under the bill, the state is also directed to adopt rules that allow for the use of on-board diagnostic testing equipment.  An attempt to extend the exemption to vehicles 10 years old and newer was not approved in committee earlier this year. 

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Colorado House State, Veterans, & Military Affairs Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 257

  • S.B. 257 acknowledges the relatively minimal environmental impact of the vehicles targeted for this exemption.
  • S.B. 257 acknowledges that it is senseless to test newer vehicles, the results of which demonstrate no significant air quality benefits.   The idea behind exempting any class of vehicles is to reduce costs while not losing appreciable emission reductions.  This strategy builds support for emission inspection programs, but also directs finite resources to where they will be most valuable in cleaning the air.  
  • Colorado already exempts pre-1976 collector cars, kits and street rods from emissions testing.  The logic for this trend is clear; such vehicles do not contribute in significant ways to air quality problems.  This logic applies equally to newer cars.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Colorado House State, Veterans, & Military AffairsCommittee immediately to request their support for S.B. 257.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.  

Colorado House State, Veterans, & Military Affairs Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;;

Representative Su Ryden (Chair)
Phone: 303-866-2942
Representative Joe Salazar (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 303-866-2918
Representative Tim Dore
Phone: 303-866-2398
Representative Jeanne Labuda
Phone: 303-866-2966
Representative Dan Nordberg
Phone: 303-866-2965
Representative Mike Foote
Phone: 303-866-2920
Representative Jovan Melton
Phone: 303-866-2919
Representative Ray Scott
Phone: 303-866-3068
Representative Steve Humphrey
Phone: 303-866-2943
Representative Dominick Moreno
Phone: 303-866-2964
Representative Angela Williams
Phone: 303-866-2909