Amended Version of Colorado Bill to Extend Emissions Inspection Waiver For Newer Cars Approved by Transportation Committee

Legislation (S.B. 126) in the Colorado State Legislature that originally sought to extend the emissions inspection exemption to vehicles that are 8 model years old and newer was amended and approved by the Senate Transportation Committee.  Under the amendment, the bill now would provide the exemption to vehicles 6 model years old and newer.  Current law only exempts vehicles that are 4 model years old or newer.  Even with the amendment, this is still a bill worthy of our support.  The bill will now be considered by the Senate Appropriations Committee.

We Urge You to Contact Colorado Senate Appropriations Committee Members (Contact Information Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 126

  • S.B. 126 acknowledges the relatively minimal environmental impact of the vehicles targeted for this exemption.
  • S.B. 126 acknowledges that it is senseless to test newer vehicles, the results of which demonstrate no significant air quality benefits.   The idea behind exempting any class of vehicles is to reduce costs while not losing appreciable emission reductions.  This strategy builds support for emission inspection programs, but also directs finite resources to where they will be most valuable in cleaning the air.
  • Colorado already exempts pre-1976 collector cars, kits and street rods from emissions testing.  The logic for this trend is clear; such vehicles do not contribute in significant ways to air quality problems.  This logic applies equally to newer cars.  

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Colorado Senate Appropriations Committee immediately to request their support for S.B. 126.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Colorado Senate Appropriations Committee

To e-mail all committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;

Senator Pat Steadman (Chair)
Phone: 303-866-4861

Senator Mary Hodge (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 303-866-4855

Senator Bob Bacon
Phone: 303-866-4841

Senator Angela Giron
Phone: 303-866-4878

Senator Kevin Grantham
Phone: 303-866-4877

Senator Ted Harvey
Phone: 303-866-4881

Senator Rollie Heath
Phone: 303-866-4872

Senator Keith King
Phone: 303-866-4880

Senator Kent Lambert
Phone: 303-866-4835

Back to Breaking News: 2012 Archives